Mondays with Megan: The Crepe Makers’ Bond by Julie Crabtree Review

I don’t know about you, but I had a busy and interesting weekend. I tried a new restaurant (mmmm pretzel covered pickle chips) and I got a new dog! I adopted her from the APL. Her name is Lexi and she is a 7-year-old German Shepard mix. We are still getting to know each other, but so far things are great. One of the best parts about having a dog (for me at least) is the need for a schedule. I cannot believe how much stuff I got done (and read) on Sunday all because the dog needed to go out at 7am.

In the spirit of “new things” I have designated this week Advanced Reader Copy(ARC) Week. The first ARC (which I actually read last week) is The Crepe Maker’s Bond by Julie Crabtree.

The Crepe Makers’ Bond by Julie Crabtree
Milkweed Editions, April 2011
Provided for review by netGally.com

SUMMARY:  As an aspiring chef Ariel finds comfort in the kitchen when times are tough and lately she has been spending a lot of time cooking away her frustrations. It’s the last year of middle school and instead of enjoying it she and her two best friends seem to be drifting apart. Nicki is keeping a secret and Mattie’s mom is planning to move away. The inseparable trio quickly concoct a plan to keep Mattie in town until the end of the school year. Surprisingly all the parents agree to let Mattie move in with Ariel. However, what starts out as a dream come true quickly turns in to a nightmare that threatens to destroy the girls’ friendship.

REVIEW: First of all, reading this book made me HUNGRY! It is jam-packed with mouth-watering and cleverly named recipes (Achy Breaky Artichoke Hearts Dip and Crepes of Wrath are my favorites). The three best friends are realistic middle schoolers and reading about them reminded me of my own two best friends from 8th grade. Crabtree does a nice job addressing issues that most young teens face-friendship, divorce, grades, appearance, and social status. The story is cute and fast-paced, the characters are easy to relate to, and the recipes will have you running to the kitchen to cook. I would recommend this book to foodies and middle grade girls looking for a fun story about friendship.

I haven’t decided yet what the next ARC will be, I have to go through my TBR pile tonight. I’ll keep you posted!

Also, stay tuned for a review of The Lost Hero by Rick Riordan from the Rocky River Teen Pizza Pagers.

All this food talk is making me hungry. I am off to find a snack. Happy reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

