Mondays with Megan-Divergent Review

What a busy weekend! My sister is in town from Montana, so the weekend was packed with family activities. Soccer games, birthday parties, bowling, and IHOP are just a few of the fun parts of my weekend. Not so fun, sunburn (I know, right?!) and the piece of siding I found in my driveway. It looks like mine, but I really can’t find where it came from. Despite all the hustle and bustle, I managed to finish Divergent by Veronica Roth. This 22-year-old author’s debut novel is being compared to The Hunger Games, so of course I had to read it. I was so pleased that this book lived up to all the hype!

Divergent by Veronica Roth May 2011

Beatrice Prior lives in a dystopian Chicago where people are divided into factions that value and cultivate a particular virtue. At the age of sixteen citizens may decide to stay with their faction and family or choose to join a different faction. Beatrice struggles with her decision, which is made even more complicated by the confusing results of a standard aptitude test. Once the decision is made, Beatrice renames herself Tris and begins the grueling and dangerous initiation process. Protecting a secret that could lead to her death if discovered, Tris soon learns that there is growing conflict among certain factions. This conflict not only threatens the peace of her seemingly perfect society, but the people who Tris loves the most. As tension mounts Tris learns that her secret could be the key to saving those she loves.

I could not stop reading this book. I admit that during the first 100 pages (it’s almost 500 pages long), I wondered what exactly was going to happen. The stage was being set, but I couldn’t imagine how the book could be so long. And then I was sucked in with such force that I could think of nothing else but when I was going to read this book. The plot slowly unraveled, revealing itself one bit at a time, just as some of the characters’ secrets are slowly revealed. The action is non-stop, and at times gruesome. Violence, backstabbing, and high stakes challenges are par for the course as Tris struggles to earn a spot in her faction of choice. This is a promising start to a new dystopian trilogy. It is intense and suspenseful and left me eager for more (and wondering which faction I would choose). The factions: Abnegation (the selfless), Amity (the peaceful), Erudite (the intelligent), Candor (the honest) and Dauntless (the brave). Before I read the book I thought I knew, but after, I’m not so sure.

Fans of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld, The Maze Runner by James Dashner, Blood Red Road by Miora Young, Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith, and The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins will enjoy this electrifying new series.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

9 responses to “Mondays with Megan-Divergent Review

  1. Pingback: Wither by Lauren DeStafano | YA? Why Not?

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesdays-Rebels in Literature | YA? Why Not?

  3. Pingback: Mondays With Megan-2011 Debut Authors Reviews | YA? Why Not?

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books I’ve Read Because of a Book Blogger | YA? Why Not?

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Judging Books by Their Covers and Titles | YA? Why Not?

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2011 | YA? Why Not?

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Covers | YA? Why Not?

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Spring Fever! Books I Want to Play Hooky With | YA? Why Not?

  9. Pingback: Mondays With Megan Teens’ Top Ten 2012 Winners and More! | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

