Move Over Vampires, the Mermaids are Coming!

According to a recent USA Today article, mermaids are the next big thing. The new vampires. In fact, the Queen of Teen Vampires, Stephenie Meyers has reported that she is working on a mermaid book. Those rumors have been going around for a couple of years now, so I’ll believe it when I see it. I digress. I was momentarily distracted by my bitterness over her refusal to write Midnight Sun or anymore of the Host series. But that’s another story. Right now it’s mermaids! A quick search of my library catalog found lots of mermaid tales for children and these three mermaid stories for teens:

Mermaid’s Mirror by L.K. Madigan 2010

Forgive My Fins by Tera Lynn Childs 2010

Forbidden Sea by Sheila A. Nielson 2010

2011 will see even more mermaid tales. I have recently orders these for the library:


I like the covers of May (Daughter of the Sea) and Lost Voices the best!  I’ve been reading some pretty dark stuff lately (Divergent by Veronica Roth, Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith, and Shutter Island by Dennis LeHane) and vowed that my next book would be pink. Bad things don’t happen in pink books, right? Maybe I won’t be so choosy about the cover color and check out a mermaid book. P.S. I really strongly dislike adding images to WordPress. I mean, really? The text is supposed to go UNDER the picture.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Move Over Vampires, the Mermaids are Coming!

  1. Ah interesting new trend to look out for, I’m not sure I’ll love it as much as vampires though, I don’t know why but mermiads seem harder to believe in :) I am with you on wanting Stephenie to do Midnight Sun and the Host, I’m guessing we won’t get any new stuff until the last Breaking Dawn comes out tho boo!

  2. I’m intrigued, mainly because I just watched the Amazing Race finale last night which involved a challenge in an underwater mermaid world in Florida — something I had no idea existed, but now absolutely must see. Oh, and I use WordPress and have the same annoyance with photo/text placement.

  3. well, i would like to know if mermaids exists.

  4. cool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. well actually mermaids really do exist

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Me, Revealed Through Blog Posts | YA? Why Not?

  7. i love mermaids

Leave a Reply

