Series vs Stand Alones

I love a good series. I love getting to know the characters, watching them grow (hopefully) and experience new situations. A favorite series is comforting, like spending time with an old friend. The down side? Waiting for the next installment! It’s only in a series that you find the cruel, cruel cliffhanger ending. Or even worse? Discovering the series doesn’t hold your interest as it progresses. Which is why I totally appreciate a solid standalone. These books are efficient and get the job done without dragging things out. There is something satisfying about closing the cover on an awesome standalone, knowing that the author has said everything that needs to be said. 

The reasoning I bring this up is because I realized recently that I have neglected a few series while at the same time starting some new ones. I can’t have this, especially since some of my neglected series are complete, ready to go, no waiting for the next installment. So, it is time to tie up some loose ends. Since July is the month that gets the final Harry Potter movie, I have decided that this is a good time to dive into the final installments that are on my TBR pile.

Here’s the plan:

 Everlasting by Alyson Noël, the 6th and final book in the Immortals series. After a lot of heartache and blundering, loyal readers will finally learn the fate of Ever’s and Damen’s relationship. I really enjoyed the beginning of the series, but struggled with the middle part. I am pleased that this final chapter is really good.

Deadly Little Games by Laurie Faria Stolarz is the third book in the Touch series. A fourth book, Deadly Little Voices, is due out Fall 2011. This series is full of suspense and mystery, with a touch of the supernatural. The main character Camelia has the power of psychometry, the ability to sense things through touch. I enjoy this unique ability and am looking forward to finding out more about Camelia and her love interest, Ben.

Lord Sunday, by Garth Nix is the 7th and final book in The Keys to the Kingdom series. I have enjoyed this series on audio and have come to love Arthur Penhaligon, the young hero. Full of danger and adventure, memorable characters and epic battles, this series is sure to be a hit with readers going through Harry Potter withdrawal. It’s time I learned Arthur’s fate. *sniff*

Desires of the Dead, by Kimberly Derting is the sequel to The Body Finder. A quick glance at the author’s website did not reveal information about further books in the series, so I will have to just wait and see. This series stars Violet, a teenaged girl who can sense the echoes of murder victims and then match those echoes with the murderer. Pretty terrifying and nifty gift, huh? I found the first book to be a page-turner and loved the sweet friendship/romance between Violet and best friend Jay. I am not sure why I didn’t snatch this right up when it arrived in February, but I am taking it home today.

I think this should keep me busy for the next few weeks. Before I go let me recommend some awesome standalones that I have recently enjoyed:

1. Beauty Queens by Libba Bray
2. Forgotten by Cat Patrick
3. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore (due out July 12, put yourself on hold now!)
4. Shine by Lauren Myracle
5. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

