Book Beginnings on Friday: A Gentleman of Fortune

Welcome back to Book Beginnings on Friday, a weekly meme hosted by A Few More Pages. Last week was my first BBOF and I have to confess that I gave up on the book. Actually, I am totally ok with that. Here is a new teaser:

                                  Richmond, Wednesday 27th May 1806

My Dear Eliza,

The great Mrs Lansdale is no more.
She was carried off on Tuesday night by a sudden seizure. It is a very heavy loss, for not the neighbourhood can no longer discuss the alarming symptoms of her nervous complaints, nor can it exclaim over every rumoured disagreement between the lady and her nephew.

So begins A Gentleman of Fortune or, The Suspicions of Dido Kent by Anna Dean. This sequel to Bellfield Hall is another charming Regency era mystery. Having read the first book, I knew I was in for a treat when I started the second.

I am sure I will be back to a YA book next week.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

3 responses to “Book Beginnings on Friday: A Gentleman of Fortune

  1. That’s a lovely cover! And–how said that the neighbors have one less person to gossip about. What will they do? :-)

    Here’s my Friday: http://myreadersblock.blogspot.com/2011/09/friday-memes.html

  2. A Regency mystery? How fun!
    Books that open with death are an interesting way to start. Death is rather attention-grabbing. :)
    Thanks for participating in Book Beginnings!

  3. Mrs Lansdale sounds like a real character! (No pun intended…!) I wonder how her death has brought about the writing of this letter. Thanks for sharing! :)

Leave a Reply

