The Kings of Clonmel, Ranger’s Apprentice Book 8 by John Flanagan Review

I have really slacked of with reviews these last few months of the year. I also realize that I make some mention of my pathetic review writing rate every time I muster up the will to write one. Trust me, I am aware of how lame that is and I have been thinking of ways to improve the blog in general and my reviewing situation specifically. But, that is neither here nor there right now. Right now I am going to give you a review! I am so close to finishing The Ranger’s Apprentice series and I am quite proud of the fact that I have reviewed each and every one here. If you have not read the series from the beginning you may want to stop here. I won’t reveal any spoilers for this volume, but I can’t promise anything more than that. You have been warned.

The Kings of Clonmel by John Flanagan,  2010

Rangers Will and Halt and their friend, Sir Horace, are back together again for a new adventure. Their destination is the tiny island nation of Hibernia where a quasi-religious cult known as the Outsiders is spreading fear and sedition throughout the country side. What the Hibernians do not realize is that they have fallen victim to a cruel and deadly hoax, perpetrated by the leader of the cult. Will’s skill with the bow and arrow and Horace’s brute strength and cunning will certainly be useful on this mission, but it is Halt and a secret about his past that are the keys to revealing the Outsiders for the crooks and charlatans that they are and restoring order in the kingdom.

With eight books and counting, there is nothing stale about this series. The author continues to present fresh and exciting adventures for his beloved characters, and believe me, at this point they are very much beloved by me! In addition to revealing a very juicy secret about Halt, Flanagan tackles the issues of weak leadership, fear mongering, and the dangers of mob mentality in this action-packed addition to the series. I continue to enjoy this fun series and look forward to more of this story in book 9, Halt’s Peril.

Fans of this series may enjoy the works of Cinda Chima Williams, Garth Nix, Michael Scott, and John Delaney.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

