Top Ten Tuesday-Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

Welcome to another great Top Ten Tuesday, a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.  This week’s list is all about wishful thinking, as in, I really wish these guys would hurry up and write another book. Please and thank you. There are no dead guys on my list, so I am pretty hopeful that my wishes will come true. In no particular order, I give you my list:

1. Jacqueline Kelly, author of The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate (2009). This book was so charming.  I would love be happy with either a sequel or something new. I’ve checked the author’s blog and there is no indication that she is working on a new book. Sad.

2. Stephenie Meyer, author of Twilight, The Host, and the disappointing Short Second Life of Bree Tanner. Dude, you totally owe us. I mean really? Midnight Sun? The Soul? The Seeker? You know what? I am actually so cheesed off with the whole Stephenie Meyer franchise that I may ignore these books if someone ever gets around to making her write/publish them. Seriously, who is in charge of that? I have strongly worded letter churning around in my head…Wow! Deep breaths, Megan. Ahem, let’s move on.

3.  J.K. Rowling, author of the Harry Potter series. Let’s get this Pottermore nonsense straightened out, pick a new pen name, and get busy. Please.

4. Alexandra Bracken, author of Brightly Woven (2010). I would really love another book set in the Brightly Woven world. She has a new dystopian series coming out this year called The Darkest Minds, which I will certainly look for, but I want more of the fantasy world.

5. Polly Shulman, author of Enthusiasm (2006) and The Grimm Legacy (2010). Please don’t tell me I have to wait 4 years for another adorable story! Fans of Glee need to read Enthusiasm and fans of Once Upon a Time should check out The Grimm Legacy. Both are fun reads. More, please.

6. Scott Westerfeld, author of many, many books, including the Uglies series and the Leviathan series. It’s pretty cool that Uglies is being turned into manga. Blah, blah, blah. I NEED a new novel. Seriously, the manga is not enough. What’s next? I know there is an awesome idea on the horizon. There just has to be….This is the old cover, but it’s the edition that I read and fell in love with.

7. Gordon Korman, author a gazillion books, including the YA hits Son of the Mob (2002), Born to Rock (2006), and Pop (2009). I know he’s been busy with 39 Clues, his middle grade dog series, and some new Titanic thing, but I want a new guy-friendly teen book. I suppose I could read Son of the Mob while I wait…

8. Moira Young, author of Blood Red Road (2011). Ok, I am just being impatient here. Rebel Hearts, the second book in the Dust Lands trilogy is due out this year. But is that in the UK only? Will US readers have to wait even longer? Sigh.

9. Suzanne Collins, author of the Gregor the Overlander series and The Hunger Games trilogy. I really hope getting a movie franchise *coughlikestepheniemeyerj.k.rowlingcough* doesn’t put an end to her writing career. I sure would like more from her.

10. Gayle Forman, author of If I Stay and Where She Went. More impatience. Man, I hope she is working on something new because I will be snatching that up right away.

Runners up: Jandy Nelson (The Sky is Everywhere, 2010) and Jenny Han (Summer series, completed 2011)

In the meantime, I suppose I should focus on tackling my ginormous TBR pile.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

12 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Authors I Wish Would Write Another Book

  1. Seriously…that whole Short Life of Bree Tanner thing made me soooo angry!! I’m trying to re-invigorate my love for YA this year; your list helps me enormously!!

  2. Stephenie Meyer is… grr! Who isn’t annoyed with her?! She needs to get it together and… okay, not gonna get started on that one!

  3. Oh! I forgot about Jenny Han. She needs another book ASAP! And I agree about Stephenie Meyer. She made my list, too.

    Here’s mine:
    http://theirishbanana.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-ten-tuesday-4.html

  4. Definitely want another book by Suzanne Collins! And Scott Westerfeld. I didn’t read the Leviathin series, though. The Grimm Legacy looks really good!

  5. I also put Foreman and Collins. I didn’t put Westerfield or Meyers on my list but love them.

    Also, your runnerups were great. I love Jandy Nelson. She should definitely be more popular than she is. I’m going to have to check out some of those authors you talked about.

    Here’s mine: http://danicapage.blogspot.com/2012/01/top-ten-authors-i-wish-would-write.html

  6. I didn’t even bother to read Bree Tanner! I don’t think I’m missing much, lol. Can’t wait to see new books from Gayle Forman & Suzanne Collins!

  7. Great list:) I totally forgot to add Suzanne Collins to mine!

  8. Love the Hunger Games! There’s quite a few on there that I really want to read!!
    Jessi @ Auntie Spinelli Reads

  9. Maybe Rowling can write about… Drumstrang now :)

  10. I love Scott Westerfeld, as well! He announced awhile ago the possibility of an Uglies movie, but I haven’t checked his website recently to see whether it’s definite or just ditched. I recently purchased If I Stay because I heard so many good things about it, but I haven’t read it yet.

  11. I really hope I don’t have to wait till I’m in my 40s to read the new J.K. Rowling…

    If Stephenie Meyer writes something new, I’m not sure I’ll read it. I still haven’t gotten around to reading The Host though I’ve heard the writing is better than Twilight.

    I am looking forward to see what Suzanne Collins comes up with next but like with J.K. Rowling, perhaps genius takes time and they have set the bar rather high for themselves.

  12. So many good choices. Scott Westerfield, JK Rowling, and Suzanne Collins would all make my list as well.

Leave a Reply

