Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Teens Who Think They Don’t Like to Read

It’s time for another Top Ten Tuesday list. This awesome meme is hosted by the bloggers at The Broke and The Bookish. This week is a librarian’s dream challenge! It’s all about finding the right book for a reader. We are being asked to create a list of books to give to the person who claims to not enjoy reading. BTW, who are those people? So strange. Anyway, since I am a teen librarian, here are the books I love to give to reluctant teen readers.

For the hesitant teen guy:

1. Gone by Michael Grant. This series is action-packed. There are ordinary teens with super powers. There is fighting, swearing, drinking, and complete chaos. There are super evil characters and monsters. The books are gross and creepy and so amazing that I recommend them all the time. Trust me on this one. I have had parents come back and thank me for recommending these books to their kid. No joke.

2. The Ranger’s Apprentice series by John Flanagan. This is another go-to series for me. This series will appeal to fans of medieval settings, castles, knights, and battles. There is a hint of fantasy and a lot of humor. Bonus points for all of the cool archery stuff, sword fighting and the whole secret spy-like ranger job in general. This series is not to graphic so it is good for wide range of ages. I would give this to a ten-year old or a seventeen-year old without hesitation.

3. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld. This steampunk series has lots of guy appeal. Lots of cool science fiction-y stuff, war and machines and gadgets. There are amazing maps and drawings throughout the books as well.

4. Pop by Gordon Korman. Looking for a contemporary fiction for your reluctant reader? This one is about football. I don’t usually tell guys it is touching and heartwarming and all about friendship (shh! It totally is all that). I like to focus on the football and the pranks.

5. The Big Book of Barry Ween by Judd Winnick. This graphic novel is the complete collection of Barry Ween adventures. This is Calvin and Hobbes with more swearing and more potty humor. Score. For a reluctant reader, comic books and graphic novel can be “gateway” materials. Get them hooked on these and slowly add novels.

For the reluctant teen girl:

1. The Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter. This series is awesome! What girl doesn’t dream of going to a top-secret spy school? So, we have spy girls, badass ninja skills, danger, drama, and a wee bit of kissing. Total winner!

2. Paranormalcy by Kiersten White and Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins. I have to mention these together because once your reluctant reader breezes through one, they are going to be demanding more. Now you know what to do. You’re welcome. These books have not so scary paranormals, humor, romance, and good fashion sense.

3. Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. Give this to your girls who want their romance straight-up, without the vamps and weres.

4. Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart. Lockhart is a contemporary fiction genius. Her Ruby Oliver series is charming and fun, with a spot-on teen girl voice. But, I digress. Frankie Landau-Banks. A smart girl out-smarts the boys at her private school. Pranks and hijinks galore!

5. Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey. Give this series to your Twihards who insist that there is no vampire hotter than Edward. My friends, I beg to differ. Meet the Drake brothers then get back to me. Super hot vampire guys and girls with brains in their pretty heads? Yes please.

I just started reading I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore and I got sucked right in. It may have to be added to a list for non-readers, along with Hourglass by Myra McEntire, Uglies by Scott Westerfeld, and everything ever written by Rick Riordan. What’s on your list?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: Books For Teens Who Think They Don’t Like to Read

  1. Great list! I almost included Leviathan, too – there just wasn’t enough room for all the good books to pull in non-readers! I think anything with such amazing illustrations will appeal to reluctant readers.

    And I forgot about Ranger’s Apprentice – I haven’t read it myself, but my older son (who reads everything) loves it, and my younger son (who hates to read) also loved it!

    Sue

  2. I have some teensters in my home that will love these books.

  3. Loving the list – I’ve only read Paranormalcy and it was fantastic.

  4. Awesome list! I haven’t even read most of these (the only one I have read is Hex Hall) and they all look so interesting…even for the non-reluctant reader =)

  5. Oh, I LOVED ‘I am Number Four’ and ‘Anna and the French Kiss’!! I’ve not read anything else on your list, I’m going to check them out.

Leave a Reply

