Yo, Adrian! It’s Monday With Megan and What are You Reading?

Happy Monday Everyone! I had a fun, busy weekend, how about you? On Saturday I spent a good portion of my day here at the library watching Oscar-winning movies.  The movie line up was It Happened One Night, Rocky, and the original version of  All the King’s Men It was my first time seeing Rocky and it was a close second behind It Happened One Night for my favorite film of the day. Did Adrian have some cute berets or what? This event served as a reminder of how few movies I have seen and has inspired me to watch more old movies. Now I just need to find the time….I suggest more movie marathons at the library!

On Sunday my poor dog woke up with a limp (she’s too old to be running around the park like a bat out of hell, but it makes her so happy!) so I took the opportunity to lay low and hang out in my pjs all day. I spent the day cooking (chili, roasted potatoes, pulled pork), reading, and eating too many Girl Scout Cookies. I threw in a movie to shake things up. I got about half-way through The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and I watched the angsty teen flick Beware the Gonzo, which is about a teen at a private school who starts an underground newspaper that sparks a school revolution and has disastrous results. I enjoyed it, especially Zoë Kravitz, who is the spitting image of both her parents (Lisa Bonet and Lennie Kravitz). Seriously, it’s kind of weird. As for the book, I am withholding comments until I finish. So that’s what I did. Oh, and I stayed up late to watch Downtown Abbey. I cannot believe I have to wait until ??? for more.

On to the books!

Book Journey  wants to know what you are reading and Teacher Mentor Texts wants to know what children’s and teen books you are reading. I am glad they asked!

Last week was a full of amazing reading! I finished The Rook by Daniel O’Malley-LOVED it. Highly Recommend. Five stars. Two-Thumbs Up. I am even write a review! I also finished This is Not a Test by Courtney Summers. I will be review it this week, but I have needed time to digest it all. I also finished The Boy Book by E. Lockhart and I am Number Four by Pittacus Lore. I am working on great stuff this week too!

In my car: Still listening to I am the Messenger by Markus Zusak. Honestly, I don’t want it to end.

At home: Because I do not want to risk crying at work or in public, The Fault in Our Stars by John Green will not be read outside of my house. I will probably finish it tonight.

 Which means I will need a new night stand book. I am thinking The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan. I am bound to be sad after reading TFIOS, so I may as well stay on the sad train and finish up my beloved Ranger’s Apprentice series. *sniffle, sniffle*

On the bright side, my at work book is I’ve Got Your Number by Sophia Kinsella. I am starting it today and expect it to be great fun.

My graphic novel reading has come to a stand still since I caught up with Fables. I am stuck in the middle of The Walking Dead and Y: Last Man. In the meantime I will read Mangaman by Barry Lyga.

Speaking of Barry Lyga, is anyone else excited about his upcoming novel, I Hunt Killers? It sounds a little Dexter-ish for the younger set. Sign me up. And Warner Brothers has bought the television rights? Yes, please!

Ok, this is getting to be a very long post! That’s all for now.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

2 responses to “Yo, Adrian! It’s Monday With Megan and What are You Reading?

  1. Oh, Oscar movies sounds fabulous! I’m doing an Oscars feature this week on my blog to gear up for Oscar Sunday – you should check it out if you get a chance. It Happened One Night is fantastic. I love old movies like that! Also, is that a new one from Sophie Kinsella? I love her! Haven’t read anything by her in a while, but she was one of my favorite authors when I was in/just out of college! As for my reading… I just finished Iron Daughter so I’m moving onto the next in the series, Iron Queen.

  2. I love Sophie Kinsella! Is that a new book by her? I haven’t read it new or old. I haven’t read the Ranger’s Apprentice series but it keeps popping up here and there so I probably should!

Leave a Reply

