Mondays With Megan-I Survived the Library Lock-In, But Didn’t Do Much Reading

Here’s the scene: Friday evening, 6pm. The library doors are locked, but the building is not empty. Inside are me, my manager, and 15 teens. We are locked in. On purpose. We ate pizza, had a flashlight-photo scavenger hunt, heard the ghost story about Mrs. Wilder (the library’s first director), took a behind the scenes tour (saw Mrs. Wilder’s old office), played cornhole, made glow in the dark jars, and enjoyed indoor S’mores. Everyone signed up for the summer reading program, everyone took home prizes, and one lucky winner got a basket packed full of books, candy, ice cream coupons, and other fun treats! I am a little jealous of that copy of Gone with the awesome glowy cover.

Some of the same goodies can be found in the weekly prize baskets. To enter the raffle all you have to do is read! Sign up, entry gifts, and raffle slips are available at the Reference Desk. Students are required to read books for school, they may as well get a reward for doing it, right?

I didn’t get much reading in this week, but I did tons of listening. Apparently I spent a lot of time in my car and in my yard. It’s time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

What I Finished:

 I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. Loved it.

Locke & Key, vol. 1: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill. Stephen King’s son sure does bring the creep! I am happy to have discovered this new graphic novel series.

 The Art of Fielding by Chad Harbach. I am glad I read outside my comfort zone. I very much enjoyed this book about baseball, life, love, and complicated relationships.

 Red, White, and Blood by Christopher Farnsworth. Nathaniel Cade is one of my favorite vampires. He is 100% bada**. I love him.

Currently plugging away at:

 Little Lady, Big Apple by Hester Browne.

 The Power of Six by Pittacus Lore.

 Real Live Boyfriends by E. Lockhart.

 The Opposite of Hallelujah by Anna Jarzab.

My New Audio Endeavors:

 Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

  The Technologists by Matthew Pearl.

I am really enjoying all of my book choices, but I have to confess that TV may win out this week-Friday Night Lights, season 3 just came in for me at the library. I love that show. Love. I’ll try to be good and pace myself.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

4 responses to “Mondays With Megan-I Survived the Library Lock-In, But Didn’t Do Much Reading

  1. I’ve heard rave reviews on I HUNT KILLERS. I have it on my TBR pile!

  2. Your library event sounds like so much fun. I would have loved that as a teen!

  3. I agree! A library lock-in would be fun! I have always thought it would be fun to have a sleepover event at the library. Maybe I’ll suggest it again to the youth librarians at our local library.

  4. Under the Never Sky is SO good. Your event sounds like it was a lot of fun, too.

Leave a Reply

