Mondays With Megan, aka Meme Central! It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? And Recommend A…(#1)

Howdy Friends! I don’t know about you, but I had a really great weekend. I hung out with a couple of my sisters and their kids, I tried a new restaurant with friends, I did some much-needed yard work, and I did a lot of reading. I actually feel pretty good heading into this new work week! So good that I decided to add an extra meme to my Monday morning routine.

I will start with the new one.

Recommend A… is hosted by Chick Loves Lit. Each week participants are asked to make a recommendation based on a prompt. This week we are looking for a laugh and were asked to Recommend A…Book I Thought Was Funny. I of course, will cheat and list two.

The Spellman Files by Lisa Lutz is the first in a hilarious series starring the Spellmans, a quirky, semi-dysfunctional family of private investigators. Truly laugh-out-loud here!

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White is the first in a series featuring Evie, the tough, hilarious, and fashion-forward heroine who is an expert at bagging and tagging rogue paranormals. As Evie would say, this series is bleeping funny!

Moving right along, it’s time to show off all my weekend reading!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey. A children’s/YA version is brought to you by Teach Mentor Texts. This meme is a great way to see what other people are reading and recommending. It’s one of the reasons my TBR list is so unruly!

Finished:

Locke & Key by Joe Hill and Gabriel Rodriguez (illustrator) is my current favorite graphic novel obsession. I finished the third and fourth volumes and am all twitchy waiting for the fifth volume. This series is about the Locke family, teens Tyler and Kinsey, and their little brother Bode. They move back to their father’s childhood home after his brutal murder. They quickly learn that Lovecraft is no ordinary mansion. Rather, it is full of mysterious keys that open doors to a world of magic. They also discover that there are dark forces seeking the magic of the keys. This series is dark and magical and thrilling. The characters are well-developed and a little bit heartbreaking and the illustrations are true works of art. I highly recommend this series!

Flock is the final book in the Stork trilogy by Wendy Delsol. I was so lucky to get a sneak peek…it’s so good! While you wait for me to write a review, check out my thoughts about Stork and Frost.

The Opposite of Hallelujah by Anna Jarzab was also an ARC, so there will be a review up this week as well. This book is a thoughtful look at religion and faith and after an initial slow start (all my fault, just didn’t have a chance to dive into it), I ended up really liking the story.

Little Lady, Big Apple by Hester Browne is the second book in the Little Lady trilogy. Fun, British rom-com. I am looking forward to the last book.

Will Finish Today:

The Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi. Wow. This is a scathing commentary on war and the impact it has on children. I am half way through the last disc and the tension has reached an unbearable climax…I have to know what happens. Right. Now.

Still plugging away at:

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. I am in trouble. Kim has moved on to book 5!

Up Next:

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith is my next BOCD. I have heard the book is great. I have heard the movie is great. Time to see for myself!

It’s also time to start working on my Summer Reading list! I think I will start with the last book in the Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa.

In the spirit of finishing what I’ve started, I will be taking The Little Lady Agency and the Prince by Hester Browne home with me tonight. There is no urgency to finish this one, so I will make it my bedtime story for the next few weeks.

I would also like to start either Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein or From Bad to Cursed by Katie Alender. Of course, you never know what book with come across my desk that will cause me to drop everything! I’ll let you know next week what I decided!

What are you working on this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

13 responses to “Mondays With Megan, aka Meme Central! It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? And Recommend A…(#1)

  1. Hi Megan! Paranormalcy is on the ISLMA Abe list as well, so that’s in my queue. I definitely was not expecting it to be funny, so that’s exciting to know! I have had an ARC of Code Name Verity since NCTE last year, and I’ve still not had a chance to read it! I hear it’s wonderful! Right now I’m reading The Chosen One by Carol Lynch Williams and I am about to start The Graveyard Book, by Neil Gaiman (on audio) on my way to grad class tonight!

  2. Megan
    The only book I have read here is the Spellman Files, I remember having to look up a word in it, can’t remember it now, but think it mean someone who enters by windows rather than doors.
    Happy reading
    Kathryn

  3. The Spellman Files looks like a funny read. Good suggestion!

  4. I love the “bagging and tagging” heroine. I think that book sounds great. It almost sounds a bit Beka Cooper to me, but more contemporary? Is that possible?

  5. I love the new meme- I might try it out next week :)
    Your week sounds lovely- I love the look of Flock will have to look at that series
    Have a lovely week :)

  6. I just finished Paranormalcy, and it was awesome! So funny. Great choice! :)

  7. I’ve heard such rave reviews about Code Name Verity. I’ve got to get my hands on it soon as well!
    Happy reading!

  8. I just read Code Name Verity and I loved it! Get to it soon!

  9. Have fun reading Vampire hunter :) I tried it and it was a little out there for me…but definitely fun!

  10. Nice selection of books. I tried to read Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter but ended up skimming it. I will be skipping the movie for now.

    My favorite read last week was Chi’s Sweet Home, Volume 1 by Kanata Konami. Please come see what else I’m reading.

  11. I know how you feel with getting through The Song of Ice and Fire series. I am listening to them via audio book and getting through them slowely. I find it hard to stick to reading one long book for such a length.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  12. Holy cow! You do a lot of reading. I’m in awe. I’ve heard great stuff about Code Name Verity, too. I’ve wanted to read the Iron Fey series but haven’t picked it up yet. I love getting to see what others are reading that are different from what I’m reading. Thanks for linking up!

Leave a Reply

