Mondays With Megan: What Are You Reading and Recommend A…#2

Happy Monday! Did everyone make it through the weekend with power? All the heavy storms and brutal weather seemed to pass me by, but I know folks who weren’t so lucky. I took a day off on Friday and camped out at my favorite coffee shop with a stack of books. I’ll get to what read in a minute, but first I would like to

Contemporary Fiction Book (or two ;))

Thanks to Chick Loves Lit for hosting this meme. Be sure to stop by and check out all the other recommendations.

This was an easy one! I love, love, love Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John.  I cannot recommend this book enough.

The high school rock band Dumb is soaring after their big win at Seattle’s Battle of the Bands. Piper Vaughn is fuming over a family betrayal. Their usually separate worlds collide in the hall one afternoon. In a moment of outrage Piper manages to insult the band and land a job with them. As the new manager of Dumb Piper must get the band a paying gig within a month. It is immediately obvious that the five band members are going to be a handful. Juggling their personalities is a full-time job on its own. What is not immediately obvious to Piper is the band’s talent. The trickiest part of her job is to promote a band that she cannot hear. It’s a rocky road to Dumb’s first paid performance, but along the way Piper discovers Kurt Cobain, Jimi Hendrix, and the real Piper Vaughn.

I also really love Pop by Gordon Korman.

Marcus Jordan is the new kid in town. Friendless and determined to earn a spot on the high school’s champion football team, he starts practicing alone in the park. He is soon joined by Charlie, a charismatic and odd middle-aged prankster who knows a lot about football. The unusual pair quickly develop a camaraderie, but when Charlie’s behavior becomes more unpredictable, Marcus learns the surprising truth about his new friend. Charlie is Charlie Popovich the former NFL star whose brutal tackling earned him the nickname “The King of Pop” and he is suffering from early onset Alzheimer’s. Marcus is not sure how to deal with this news, but he does know that he may have to defy Charlie’s family in order to do what is best for his friend.

It’s also time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

 

I only finished one book this week and it was so good!

Finished:

The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy is the hilarious and charming middle-grade story of the real Princes Charming (Liam, Gustav, Frederic, and Duncan).

I am still working on A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin (I made a lot of progress and have officially reached the point where this is the only book I want to be reading right now), The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa, and Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith, and The Technologists by Matthew Pearl.

My current ARC:

Quarantine: Loners by Lex Thomas.

I am also currently being taunted by Blood Moon by Alyxandra Harvey, The Diviners by Libba Bray (ARC), and Darkest Mind by Alexandra Bracken (ARC). So many books…

What are you reading?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

13 responses to “Mondays With Megan: What Are You Reading and Recommend A…#2

  1. I would kill for an ARC of The Diviners! I don’t know how you are able to resist.

  2. 5 Flavors of Dumb sounds like it would be right up my alley! I’m going to have to check it out.

  3. Five Flavors of Dumb sounds really good, I just added it to my TBR list.
    Have a great week!
    Thanks for visiting My Recommend A..

  4. Ah I love books about bands. I was impatient… new library card not yet issued – you just cost me $8.99!

  5. I wondered about that Saving Your Kingdom. The cover definitely caught my eye at the book store the other day. I love that you’re reading Abe: Vampire Hunter. My husband is totally against me reading it. He’s an Abe purist. Enjoy!

  6. Yes!! Five Flavors of Dumb is great. Definitely a very solid contemporary book. Thanks for participating this week! :)

  7. I LOVE Five Flavors of Dumb, too!!!! I especially love it because there is a deaf character who advocates and speaks up for herself. I love it. Such a great book. I haven’t read Pop by Gordon Korman, but I’ve read and loved a lot of his books. I did a double take when I saw that the MC is Marcu Jordan. One of Michael Jordan’s sons is named Marcus! Craziness…if only he was trying out for a basketball team!

  8. I loved Clash of Kings and hope you finish it off soon and move on tho the next one :-)

  9. Five Flavors of Dumb looks awesome – it’s a Missouri Gateway Award nominee…and I think I better check it out :)

    What Are You Reading @ the Brunette Librarian?

  10. I haven’t heard of the two books you recommended, but I’ll definitely check them out. They sound good. =)

    Also, as for the books your reading, my husband read Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter and loved it. I want to go see the movie so bad, it looks amazing.

    I’m also DYING to read The Diviners, I love Libba!

    I have a thing I do each Sunday on my blog that is kind of like What Are You Reading. I didn’t know anyone else did that!

  11. Reading a stack of books in a coffeehouse actually sounds kind of nice… Good luck getting through A Clash of Kings! I really want to read the series, but the books are just so big.

  12. I haven’t heard of either of those contemporary books before, but they look interesting!

    I gave up on Martin after reading A Game of Thrones. The plot was just moving far too slowly for me.

Leave a Reply

