Mondays With Megan: What Are You Reading and Recommend A…#3

Holy Moley! What a heat wave…I am so grateful for the reprieve! That nasty weather was good for only one thing: sitting in air conditioning and reading!

 

First, let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts and see what everyone is reading.

I only finished one book last week!

Finished:

Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter by Seth Grahame-Smith. Wow! I really liked this one and can’t wait to go see the movie. If you enjoyed this book I would recommend Blood Oath by Christopher Farnsworth, the first in The President’s Vampire series. Bronson Pinchot narrates and his voice is dreamy…ahem. Anyway.

New Audio:

The Daily Coyote by Shreve Stockton. I am so tempted to pack my bags…

Currently Reading:

A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. I have reached the point of no return. All other books, television shows, and chores are being ignored. The dog is no longer speaking to me and I am sleep deprived, but it’s all worth it. I will finish this monster this week!

The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa is getting a little bit of my attention. Dear Ash, it’s nothing personal. Blame George. I will get back to you ASAP, I promise. Love, Megan

Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas.  I am working on this ARC from NetGalley. I am so happy they changed the spelling of the title from Quaranteen to Quarantine. Other than that, Michael Grant has ruined all trapped teens books for me. Maybe the second half of the book will totally wow me.

That’s all I can commit to this week, but I am sure some surprises will come my way. What are you reading?

Need a recommendation? Stop by Chick Loves Lit and see what people are saying about books from 2010.

…Book(s) from 2010. Upon review my 2010 reading list I decided to recommend four underappreciated books from 2010 that I really loved.

For the Dystopian Lover:

Birthmarked by Caragh O’Brien is a stunning debut novel. Climate change has decimated the land. The Enclave protects the privileged who live within the city walls. On the outside, sixteen-year-old Gaia is following in her mother’s footsteps and training to be a midwife. She has always believed that meeting the baby quotas imposed by the Enclave was her duty. However, when her parents are arrested by the very people they serve, Gaia questions everything she thought was true and risks everything to try to save her parents.

For the Fantasy Lover:

Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken was another 2010 debut novel. Sydelle Mirabel lives in a draught stricken village. One day the rains came, along with Wayland North, a mysterious wizard. As his reward for bringing rain North requests that Sydelle accompany him on an important but dangerous quest. Together the two set out to deliver an important message to the Imperial Sorceress. Secrets and betrayals plague the tenuous relationship between Syd and North, but with war imminent the two must work together maintain peace in the kingdom. Wayland North is one swoon-worthy wizard!

For the Historical Fiction Lover:

Wicked Girls by Stephanie Hemphill is a novel told in verse about the Salem Witch Trials. I struggle with Historical Fiction and I do not usually choose books in verse, but I stepped out of my comfort zone and it was worth it! The story is chilling and powerful and quite eye-opening, as readers are drawn into the madness of the time.

For the Mythology Lover:

Stork by Wendy Delsol was another 2010 debut. Sixteen-year-old Kat moves to Minnesota after her parent’s divorce. She discovers that she is a human Stork, responsible for placing new souls with the proper parents. She also uncovers a family secret, recovers repressed memories, and reconnects with a stranger from her past. Why you should read it: With a perfect blend of old-fashioned fairy tales, Norse mythology, and a high-spirited, fashion-forward heroine, it is the perfect cure for the Vampire/Paranormal Overload Blues (it’s a real problem, I should know). Also, there is a dreamy boy and kissing.

What were your favorites of 2010?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

15 responses to “Mondays With Megan: What Are You Reading and Recommend A…#3

  1. Love your recommendations for 2010 books. I’ve read Wicked Girls, but the others are books I bought for my library’s teen collection but didn’t read them myself. I must put them on my TBR list. They look intriguing! Some under-appreciated books from 2010 that I loved were: Cosmic by Frank Boyce, Butterfly by Sonya Hartnett, The Poison Eaters by Holly Black, The Things a Brother Knows by Dana Reinhardt.

  2. All these recommendations sound awesome! I had heard of Stork and Birthmarked, but not the other two. I’ll have to check them out. Thanks!

  3. I read and loved Stork! I think I need to give Birth Marked a try! Thanks for sharing!

  4. Great recommendations! I haven’t read any of these but will definitely be checking them out. Thanks!

  5. I am so tempted to just buy A Game of Thrones. There are over 50 holds on the e-book and I am not about to try to read the print version. Too heavy for my weak wrists to take!

    I don’t think you are missing much by waiting to read The Iron Knight. It wasn’t anything earth shattering for me.

    My favorites published in 2010 include Last Sacrifice (the final book in the Vampire Academy series by Richelle Mead), Girl in Translation by Jean Kwok (a great book for book discussion groups and also has YA appeal), Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare, Only The Good Spy Young by Ally Carter, and A Spy in the House by Y.S. Lee.

  6. I loved Brightly Woven! I loved that it was self- contained (i think?) and just had a very old school feel. Did not realize it was a 2010!

  7. Brightly Woven looks pretty awesome, I added pretty much all of these titles to my TBR pile :D

  8. I’m not the biggest fan of dystopians, but I think I’ll give Birthmarked a try. One of my friends has been raving about it since last year, and the premise does sound intriguing.

    I haven’t read a great fantasy in a while, so definitely adding Brightly Woven to the list.

    (Also, I didn’t know Abraham Lincoln Vampire Hunter even existed before I was in theaters and saw the trailer for the film, but wow, what an original and kind of twisted concept! I kind of want to read it now just to see how the author manages – I love those books that take an event or person (in this case, both) in history and then put a spin on it and rewrite it altogether. It sounds like such a fun read!)

  9. I went to Abraham Lincoln’s house the weekend this movie came out and EVERYONE was talking about it :) it was pretty funny!!

    Happy reading this week :)
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

  10. Thank you for the recommendations- I have not read any of them; I’ll have to get my hands on them.

    Thank you for participating and happy reading this week! :)

  11. I was the same way with Clash of Kings – everything got left behind as I got further and further into the book. I’m about to start the 3rd book now.

  12. I love that you gave different genre recommendations! I haven’t heard of any of those books, but they all sounds really interesting, especially Birthmarked.

  13. Brightly Woven, yes! I hope her new one is good, too! Thanks for participating :)

  14. I haven’t read any of these! I forgot all about Birthmarked. It sounds awesome though! Thanks for the recommendations. :)

  15. I read several of the books you mention for 2010. Loved Brightly Woven, liked Wicked Girls, and wasn’t a fan of Birthmarked. I had to look and see some of what I liked for 2010. That was when I discovered Percy Jackson and reread Harry Potter a ridiculous amount of times.

Leave a Reply

