Top Ten Tuesday-Freebie Week!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, sponsored by The Broke and The Bookish, is a Freebie. I am incredibly indecisive, so my list is a mixed bag today. After my coworker walked past the Reference Desk (just now, seriously!) carrying an adorable orange cat I briefly considered doing a Top Ten Strange Library Occurrences, but that seemed like a lot of work, so I stuck with books.

As a Teen Librarian I read a TON of YA books, but I also try to fit adult books (that sounds naughty, but you know what I mean, right?) into my reading when ever possible. So I thought I should mention some of my favorites of those. But then I got a little twitchy about not having any YA books on a Top Ten List, so I’m splitting it up and including both.

Five Favorite Non-YA Reads of 2012 (so far!)

1. The Rook by Daniel O’Malley.

I picked this debut novel up on a whim, based on a bunch of blurbs on the back. I am particularly fond of this one:

“Suspenseful and hilarious — “Harry Potter meets Ghostbusters meets War of the WorldsThe Rook is an outrageously inventive debut novel for readers who like their espionage with a dollop of purple slime, or their supernatural thrillers with an agenda and a pencil skirt.”

I honestly cannot do justice to this book. It’s so bizarre and so amazing. I can’t wait for more. There had better be more! This book will definitely be on my final favorites of 2012 list.

2. Defending Jacob by William Landay.

I listened to this courtroom thriller on Playaway. It was so riveting that the pooch and I did a lot of extra walking just so I could listen. Older teens may be interested in this one.

3. Trail of the Spellmans by Lisa Lutz.

I love the Spellmans! This quirky family of private investigators will have you laughing out loud. This is the latest installment. I recommend starting at the beginning with The Spellman Files.

4. Locke & Key by Joe Hill.

Joe Hill (Stephen King’s son) has made a name for himself among horror lovers and his latest project, the Locke & Key graphic novel series is a welcome addition to his bibliography. It’s spooky and creepy and down-right fascinating. I can’t stop thinking about Lovecraft House, all of its weird keys, the secrets that they hold, and the demon trying to get its hands on them. Must. Have. More.

5. Sacré Bleu: A Comedy d’Art by Christopher Moore.

I am a big Christopher Moore fan-Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal is side-splittingly hilarious, as is Fool and A Dirty Job, and, oh you get the picture. I ♥ C.M. Anyway, this did not disappoint. The audio is fantastic!

Five YA books That I Was Surprised to LOVE

6. Okay For Now by Gary Schmidt.

This companion to The Wednesday Wars, which I now need to go back and read, was the talk of the town a while back. Many were dismayed that it did not win the Newbery. That is really the only reason I picked it up. I never expected to love it as much as I did. Doug Swietech took me on one emotional roller coaster ride!

7. Sorta Like a Rock Star by Matthew Quick.

I will admit that the only reason I picked this book up was because it was doomed to be discarded from the library collection. I will also admit that in the beginning Amber Appleton and her optimism was a little annoying. Then I started to wonder what that said about me that I was bothered by an optimistic fictional character. Then I let it all go and got wrapped up in Amber’s world and I sorta loved it.

8. The Knife if Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

I am not a big fan of talking animals, but this one came highly recommended by a colleague, so I gave it a shot. I was not expecting to love it as much as I did. I really need to work on the rest of the series. Great dystopian, lots of action, and so many things to think about long after the book is read!

9. I am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak.

I really like The Book Thief, so I expected to enjoy this one as well. Other than that I didn’t know what to expect. I was surprised at how much I loved Ed Kennedy. This is another book that stuck with me long after I finished. Also, the audio was amazing!

10. Ashes by Ilsa Bick.

I have a confession to make. I had this as an arc from NetGalley and I let it expire. I mean, not on purpose, but stuff just happened and I never got around to it. And then the book was published and I still didn’t read it. And then my friend read it and said it was great, so I read it, even though I was feeling a little burned out on all the post-apocalyptic dystopian stuff. Maybe that was why I was surprised by how much I loved this one. Good stuff. Looking forward to more.

For once, I am ending a TTT list at ten items. Huh.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Freebie Week!

  1. Awesome list! I like the variety of seeing your Adult favorites as well as the YA. And The Rook is on my to be read pile.

  2. I’ve been meaning to read #8 & #10 but never had them time to :P
    my TTT: http://booknookgirl.blogspot.com/2012/07/top-ten-tuesday-endings.html

  3. Some good books here and I have a copy of The Rook on my Ipad to read :)
    New Follower

    http://www.thephantomparagrapher.blogspot.co.nz/

Leave a Reply

