Mondays “YAWN” With Megan-I Stayed Up Too Late Reading!

My reading life has come to a screeching halt because of one monstrously huge, complex and compelling book:

Well, I FINALLY finished and I am desperate to start the next one (my friends won’t talk to me until I have caught up), I need to read something else for a while.  So, let’s get down to business.

First, let’s play Recommend A…, hosted by Chick Loves Lit.

This week we are recommending books by male authors. I have a bunch of favorites but I’ll keep it short.

1. Scott Westerfeld. I love both his Uglies series (dystopian/sci-fi) and his Leviathan series (steampunk/alternate history). He is currently working on Uglies manga, which is fine, I guess, but I would love a new series!

 

2. Michael Grant. He is the YA king of creepy. In person he is quite lovely and hilarious. In print he is an evil genius. His series include Gone, BZRK, The Magnificent 12 and a new series with his wife, Katherine Applegate, Eve and Adam.

   

3. John Flanagan. I LOVE The Ranger’s Apprentice series. I am sure I will also love The Brotherband Chronicles as well, but I need to finish the rangers series first. I am a little sad to say goodbye to Will, Halt, Horace, and Tug.

 

4. L. A. Meyer. Jacky Faber, heroine of Meyer’s Bloody Jack series is one of my all time favorite characters. If you enjoy audiobooks treat yourself to Bloody Jack. Katherine Kellgren is brilliant.

Ok, those are just a few of the guys I love to recommend. It’s time to move on to another list. It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? is hosted by Book Journey and a YA version is found at Teach Mentor Texts.

 

You already know that I finished Clash of Kings (phew!). I also finished Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas. I will have a full review later in the week, but I will say that I probably won’t continue following this series. I am taking a break from George R. R. Martin and have lofty reading goals for the week.

To Finish: The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa, The Technologists by Matthew Pearl, and The Daily Coyote by Shreve Stockton.

New Book to Start:

Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier. I am so lucky to have a friend who shares all of her awesome advanced reader copies!

Blood Moon by Alyxandra Harvey. Oh how I love the Drakes!

These should be quick reads so, I am hoping to also read either:

 and/or

I also have to pick some new audiobooks, but I really don’t have the energy right now. What are you working on this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

12 responses to “Mondays “YAWN” With Megan-I Stayed Up Too Late Reading!

  1. Such a lucky girl to get Sapphire Blue :)

    Happy reading this week!
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

  2. Great reading! Insurgent is on everyone’s list….I guess I need to put it on mine.

  3. I haven’t read any of those, but I’ve heard that Scott Westerfeld and Michael Grant books are really good.
    Here is My Recommend A..
    I want to read Shappire Blue and Insurgent.
    Happy reading!
    Here is My It’s Monday!

  4. Jealous! Your upcoming reads look fun! I groused about Ruby Red (http://mysistersbookshelf.com/marys-book-review-ruby-red-kerstin-gier/), but now I’m excited about Sapphire blue. Am I allowed to say that? I let my sister do the recommending this week and I am regretting it b/c there are so many great male authors out there! Like Scott Westerfeld!

  5. Love Insurgent! AudioSync is giving away 2 free audio downloads each week of the summer, and there are some good ones in there! I love the audio books of Graceling and Fire. Beautifully done.
    Michael Grant IS the king of creepy! I saw him on a panel at TeenBookCon here in Texas, and he was awesome.
    Happy reading this week!

  6. Sapphire Blue… jealous!

  7. Jealous about Sapphire Blue- Ruby Red left such a cliff hanger! I NEED to read Insurgent and I hope to get to it when summer school gets out.

    For your Male authors- I would like to add Kenneth Oppel. I have enjoyed everything of his I’ve read. He’s brilliant.

    Happy reading this week! :)

  8. Hey, stop telling people I’m nice in person. Totally blows my reputation.

  9. Great reads! I am loving your list. For the recommendations, I’d say anything by Darren Shan ;)

  10. A Clash of Kings looks very good:)

    BookJunkieMom.blogspot.com

  11. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Me, Revealed Through Blog Posts | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

