Top Ten Tuesday: If You Love The Gallagher Girls, Try These!

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish is all about readalikes. The hardest part was coming up with Book X. My pal Stacey suggested I offer readalikes for I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter.

First of all, if you have not read the Gallagher Girls series yet, I highly recommend you do that. Unless you don’t like action-packed, humorous books about awesome girls at a top-secret spy school. In that case, you should definitely not read this series. And once you are finished, you’ll want to check out some of these:

1. Heist Society by Ally Carter. Obviously. More Ally Carter is always a good thing.

2. The Disreputable History of Frankie-Landau Banks by E. Lockhart. This has a boarding school, a brilliant and hilarious girl and pranks. The Gallagher Girls would applaud Frankie’s cleverness and sass.

3. Enthusiasm and The Grimm Legacy by Polly Shulman. Again, Enthusiasm features boarding schools and spirited, stubborn girls. It’s charming fun. The Grimm Legacy, on the other hand, has the secrecy and adventure that you’ve come to love and expect from Ally Carter.

4. Dairy Queen by Catherine Gilbert Murdoch. D.J. Schwenk is one tough girl! When she’s not milking cows she’s playing football and has her heart set on a spot on the varsity team. The Gallagher Girls would approve of D.J.’s badassery. Yeah, that’s totally word.

5. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer. Jacky Faber is one clever cookie. She’s also a tough girl-orphan, ship “boy,” pirate…she earned the nickname Bloody Jack after all. The Gallagher Girls would totally hang with Jacky if they lived in 1800.

6. The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan. So you have read this far and are thinking something like this: “Well, this list is all fine and dandy, but it’s a bit too girlie for me. I like adventure and humor and cool fighting skills, but I could do without the cute plaid skirts.” I can respect that. For you, I would recommend the Ranger’s Apprentice series. The Gallagher Girls are totally fine with that. In fact, they are a little jealous that Will gets a pony.

7. Dead is the New Black by Marlene Perez. Oh wait, I was confused. You like the plaid skirts but wish there was a touch more of the paranormal in your action-packed, tough-girl book? No problem. I’ve got you covered. The Gallagher Girls would gladly lend a hand to the Giordano sisters as they solve strange mysteries in the town of Nightshade.

8. Prom Dates From Hell, a Maggie Quinn: Girl vs Evil book by Rosemary Clement-Moore. Maggie Quinn is such an awesome fighter of evil, she may qualify as an honorary Gallagher Girl. You should see some of the things she’s had to battle. Yikes!

9. Hex Hall by Rachel Hawkins and Paranormalcy by Kiersten White. Both of these are like Gallagher Girls with paranormals. Both books are hilarious, both star tough girls, there is danger, mystery, action, and hot guys, like in the Gallagher Girls, PLUS there’s demons and vampires and fairies…Oh My!

 

10. Alex Rider: Stormbreaker by Antony Horowitz. It seems appropriate to end this list with another teen spy series. I myself have not read the Alex Rider series, but I hear it’s another thrilling adventure series with a James Bond-like character. *cough* Blackthorn Boys Rule *cough*

I hope you find something here to add to your TBR lists.

*Updates*

This list continues to grow! I also recommend you try these:

also known as texas gothic spy in the house

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

5 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: If You Love The Gallagher Girls, Try These!

  1. I like your list and love the Gallagher series. I’ve been planning on reading Hex Hall and Paranormalcy for sometime now and I’m glad to have another reason to check those books out.

  2. I LOVE Frankie Landeau-Banks! She’s one of my all-time favorite book characters!

  3. Fantastic list! I definitely think Hex Hall is like the Gallagher Girls series. Archer reminds me of Zach quite a bit too :)

    Y.S. Lee’s books also remind me of the Gallagher Girls series because it is about a secret agency of female spies only set in Victorian England.

  4. I’m always trying to think of Gallagher Girls series read-alikes! Thanks for giving me some great suggestions.

  5. Just the post I was looking for, thanks!

Leave a Reply

