Mondays With Megan: Playing Catch Up, Summer Throwdown #2, and Recommend A…#5

Hi everybody! I am making the most of my mini-break from the Game of Thrones saga (Withdrawal setting in. Must read more soon.) and caught up on a big old pile of TBRs. I am even more motivated to keep up my current pace because I am once again representing The League of Librarians in Round 2 of The Summer Reading Throwdown (we won Round 1, we have a title to defend!).

For the last round I finished nine books, including the ginormous A Clash of Kings. I can totally do better than that, especially since I have vacation time coming up. I think I can read/listen to 15 books. *Fingers crossed*

Time to check in with my weekly reading list. Thanks to Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for hosting It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

The Daily Coyote by Shreve Stockton, Quarantine: The Loners by Lex Thomas, Blood Moon by Alyxandra Harvey, The Technologists by Matthew Pearl, and The Iron Knight by Julie Kagawa. I had been working on some of these for a long time!

Audio Started:

11/22/63 by Stephen King. I am going to have to do a lot of driving to get through this monster book!

The Litigators by John Grisham. This is my first Grisham novel. I have heard good things about this one and look forward to many entertaining walks with the dog.

ARCs Started:

The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken (Dec. 18, 2012)

Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier (October 30, 2012)

Also Working On:

52 Reasons to Hate My Father by Jessica Brody

*Update* I finished this one over the weekend. Very cute.

The Emperor of Nihon-Ja by John Flanagan

It’s a big list, and I’ll be happy if I can finish Sapphire Blue and 52 Reasons. Anything else will be a bonus, and one step closer to A Storm of Swords!

This week Chick Loves Lit has asked us to

…a book you have read this year. Of course, I am going to recommend more than one. I can’t help myself. I have read over 100 books so far this year, with very few duds, so this is a tough one.

A Non-YA Pick:

The Rook by Daniel O’Malley.

She wakes up in the rain surrounded by dead people wearing gloves. The only clue she has to what happened is a letter that begins “Dear You, The body you are wearing used to be mine.” And so begins Myfawny Thomas’ strange new life. She soon discovers that she is a high-ranking official in a secret agency that protects the world against supernatural threats. There is a traitor in the agency and they are not only out to get her, they want to destroy the agency itself. Can she discover who stole her memories before it is too late?

This debut novel is highly imaginative and suspenseful. It is chock-full of suspicious characters, unique super-humans, and horrific villains. The mystery will keep you guessing until the end. A healthy dose of wit and humor add to this exceptional first novel. I highly recommend you check it out.

A YA Pick:

When Rory Deveaux arrives at her London boarding school from Louisiana, she has no idea that she will soon be in the midst of Ripper Fever. London is gripped with fear as someone begins to copycat the horrific murders of Jack the Ripper. Rory becomes involved when she becomes the only witness to one of the murders. From there things spiral out of control and it becomes clear that there is more to this case than meets the eye.

The first book in the Shades of London series is a spooky, suspenseful thrill! A great boarding school setting, a paranormal mystery, a touch of historical fiction, and just a hint of romance make this a series that will appeal to a wide range of readers.

Thanks for reading to the end of this enormous post! Have great reading week.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

16 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Playing Catch Up, Summer Throwdown #2, and Recommend A…#5

  1. I loved Ruby Red. I hope Sapphire Blue is just as good. I have 52 to Reasons to Hate my Father, but I haven’t read it yet. I love Jessica’s other books.

    http://booksandcollege.blogspot.com/2012/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-1.html

  2. Oh, you’ve read the famous Quarantine? Hope it’s good. :) The name of the star sounds fantastic. :)

    http://notjustnonsense.blogspot.com/2012/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-30.html

  3. Go, League of Librarians! I’m taking part too. I have The Name of the Star but haven’t had a chance to read it yet. You make me wish it was here on vacation with me. I have The Darkest Minds and Sapphire Blue on my stack too but won’t get to them until nearer their publication dates. My Monday report is here. Happy reading.

  4. I liked Ruby Red, but it’s been tough to get students to read it. Time travel is a hard sell. The Maureen Johnson Jack the Ripper, however, is always checked out.

  5. I liked Ruby Red, but can’t decide if I really want to read Sapphire Blue or not. I will be eager to hear how you like it. I agree about the Maureen Johnson book. It is very entertaining.

  6. OMG The Rook sounds awesome (I’ve never heard of it!) also The Name of the Star is one I have had on my TBR for a while now, might have to move it up in the ranks!!

  7. Ohhhhhhhhh! I totally forgot about The Name of the Star! It has been on my list since its release. And The Rook sounds wicked cool!

    I’m curious about Sapphire Blue. I wasn’t too impressed with Ruby Red but it is an intriguing world.

  8. I have a friend who’s recently gotten into reading A Song of Fire & Dance series, and she’s raving about it — I hope to start book one before the year is up. I’ve never seen the show, either, which I think looks fantastically addicting.

    The Rook does sound interesting. Not what I normally would pick out, but I enjoy expanding my tastes — added as to-read!

  9. I can’t wait to read Sapphire Blue. I loved Ruby Red. I also want to read Blood Moon eventually. I just bought A Game of Thrones but haven’t gotten very far in it. I have a stack of library books and review books to get through first.

  10. Jealous about Sapphire Blue- I loved Ruby Red. It just introduced the story, I have to know what happens!

    Happy reading this week! :)

  11. I am humbled when I read blogs like yours. You read so much and have so many going on. I will look into the Name of the Star. I have it on my TBR pile but it has just moved up.

  12. I’m curious to see what you think about the Stephen King book. I haven’t read any of his work in years but this is one that I keep hearing about. I might have to pick it up!

    Have a great week of reading!

    http://therelentlessreader.blogspot.com/

  13. My Uncle is always recommending John Grisham to me- I hope its as good as he makes it sound!
    52 Reasons to Hate My Father is on my TBR list :)
    I also love the Recommend a meme!
    Have a lovely week!

    My Monday RoundUp- http://tinyurl.com/cwfcznh

  14. I’ve been wanting to read The Name of the Star for a while now. Thanks for the recommendation and for stopping by my blog!

Leave a Reply

