Top Ten Tuesday: It’s All About Location, Location, Location

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about awesome settings and vivid worlds. Obviously the world building in the Harry Potter and Hunger Games series is amazing, but I am saving spots on my list for some other awesome books. Some times I feel like I list the same ten books over and over again, but they deserve to be on the lists. They are that good.

1. The Iron Fey series by Julie Kagawa – a fresh, unique spin on the world of fairies. Full of twists and surprises but with all the magic one would expect when entering the fairy realm.

2. Gone series by Michael Grant-an exciting and horrifying world run by teenagers…with superpowers.

3. The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith-a vivid and disturbing imaginary setting. Or is it?

4. Leviathan by Scott Westerfeld, The Hunchback Assignments by Arthur Slade and Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare- all of these books have cool steampunk-y settings. They belong together.

5. Cinder by Marissa Meyer, Ship Breaker by Paola Bagicalupi, and The Knife of  Never Letting Go-all describe super-cool futuristic worlds.

6. The Curse Workers series by Holly Black-mob meets magic in this alternate reality world.

7. Hourglass by Myra McEntire and Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier-any world that involves time travel is awesome.

8. The Keys to the Kingdom series by Garth Nix-totally trippy world building here.

9. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan-awesome zombie world.

10. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer-historical fiction set on the briny seas. Ahoy!

Runners Up-Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan, House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer, and Blood Red Road by Moira Young.

I would be remiss if I neglected to mention some of my favorite settings in adult fiction.

The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon-Barcelona, 1930′s, The Cemetery of Forgotten Books…sigh. Magic.

The Game of Thrones by George R.R. Martin-oh my gosh, the Seven Kingdoms leave me speechless and the show has done an amazing job bringing the setting to life. I cannot wait to read book 3! No spoilers.

Faithful Place by Tana French-I swear this working-class neighborhood in Dublin is actually a character.

Locke and Key by Joe Hill-creeptastic!

Anything Sarah Addison Allen-lovely and magical.

Ok, this was a really long cheater post! I am totally cut off as of right now!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

15 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: It’s All About Location, Location, Location

  1. Your list has really peaked my interest in some of the books I’ve glanced at but not, apparently, considered closely enough! Especially The Knife of Never Letting Go

    Do love Holly Black tho!

  2. Great list! The books on it look great (well, the ones I haven’t read yet, and with the rest I agree!) I have to check them out!

    My TTT

  3. Ruth Donnelly

    Fantastic list! I loved Garden Spells, which reminded me of Alice Hoffman (if my vivid world list was for adults, she’d be on it!) I want to read The Iron Fey series.

  4. oooh I forgot that I’ve been meaning to read the knife of never letting go I’ve heard great things but it was one of those every book came off the hold at the library at once books and I didn’t finish it before I had to return it.

    marissa
    rae gun ramblings

  5. I like that you expanded the list to include adult fiction.

    Sigh, I can’t think about The Knife Of Never Letting Go without feeling grief. It’s weird to still grieve over a fictional character, alas.

    Love this list!
    My TTT

  6. I still have not read The Clockwork Angel, I know I’m lame, lol!
    Thank you for checking stopping by! (=

  7. Great choices this week! I really want to start reading The Forest of Hands and Teeth series as well as the Curse Workers series.

  8. Awesome list! I’ve been meaning to read The Iron Fey series.

  9. I’m planning on reading A Forest of Hands and Teeth next, so I’m glad to hear the setting is so vivid! (: I’ve heard Bloody Jack is great, and I love the Piratica series, so I definitely need to check that out.

    Great list!

    Around the World Giveaway

  10. Wow, fantastic list! A lot of these books are on my TBR list! I’ve also been wanting to watch Game of Thrones, the TV series.
    Thanks for stopping by! :)

  11. Ha! I’m glad I’m not the only one who can’t keep the list to 10! I think I cheat every week!

    I’m so glad you listed The Forest of Hands and Teeth! I totally forgot about that one!

  12. Nah I think it’s totally cool to cheat on the TT lists. I have a hard time picking just 10 sometimes, and other times I have problems getting like 3…LOL…Nice list! I don’t read alot of YA books, but it looks like you have some great ones on your list!

  13. I forgot about the Iron Fey series. I only read the first one, but there was a really fun world developed there. I’m on my first Cassandra Clare book right now. City of Bones. I’m loving it so far. Glad to hear some of her other books are great too. Thanks for stopping by yesterday!

  14. Awesome list! It reminded me of another land I like by Garth Nix which is whatever place Sabriel is set in. I’m also glad to see someone pick Clockwork Prince. I’ve been looking for Clare novels on people’s lists.

  15. I love the look of most of these books and settings I think it’s more than okay to cheat too. The Iron Fey series on my list of books to read. And the fact that you’ve listed it as a favourite vivid setting just makes me even more eager to read it. :)

Leave a Reply

