Mondays With Megan-So Much Summer Reading and Recommend A…#6

Good Morning Monday! Holy cow, did I get some reading done last week…and the only thing I neglected was yard work. Let’s just get down to business and check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? and Chick Loves Lit for Recommend A…

First up, time to brag about all the awesome reading I finished. I love spending my days off with a book and a latte.

I finished a whole lot of awesome: Sapphire Blue by Kerstin Gier, Fables: Inherit the Wind by Bill Willingham, I Suck at Girls by Justin Halpern, City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare (I have now read 4 of my 11 summer reads), and My Friend Dahmer by Derf Backderf.

I am still working on: 11/22/63 by Stephen King, The Litigators by John Grisham, and The Darkest Minds by Alexandra Bracken.

So excited to start: Broken Harbor by Tana French. I love her Dublin Murder Squad series.

Started, but feeling lukewarm about: Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone by Kat Rosenfield. This 2012 debut has gotten some really good reviews so I am going to stick with it a little longer.

I have a little more time off this week too, so who knows what I’ll get through. What are you reading this week?

…First book in a series. Oh boy, I love my series! I always recommend Gone by Michael Grant and Gallagher Girls by Ally Carter and of course I highly recommend The Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series by Cassandra Clare.

If you like The Hunger Games, try Blood Red Road by Moira Young.

If you like Gallagher Girls and paranormal, try Maggie Quinn: Girl vs Evil by Rosemary Clement-Moore.

And two series I want everyone to read:

The Ranger’s Apprentice by John Flanagan and Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer.

                 

What are your favorite series?

That’s all for me today. Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan-So Much Summer Reading and Recommend A…#6

  1. So Sapphire Blue was good? I can’t decide if I want to read it or not. I liked Ruby Red but didn’t exactly LOVE it. I really want to read My Friend Dahmer. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Amelia Anne is Dead and Gone. Still haven’t ordered that one for my library yet. I really *must* read Maggie Quinn, Ranger’s Apprentice, and Bloody Jack. I’ve heard such good things! My favorite series is Megan Whalen Turner’s The Queen’s Thief books!

  2. Amelia Anne has been on my TBR pile so I will wait until I read your review before I proceed. I hate spending my time on books that aren’t top notch when there are so many others out there that I should be reading.

  3. Great picks, Maggie Quinn: Girl vs Evil looks really interesting.

  4. One of my favorite series that people don’t seem to know about or have read is The Looking Glass Wars by Frank Beddor. It’s fantasy, a reinterpretation of Alice in Wonderland and I think it’s amazing. I love that series. I definitely have 11/22/63 on my radar…not sure when I’ll get to it, but it’s an adult book that’s calling to me lately. :)

  5. So did you like the Justin Halperin book?? I’ve wanted to pick it up, I just haven’t yet.

    Have a great reading week!
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

  6. That King book is massive. I got it for my dad for Father’s Day and he just got around to starting it.

    Here’s my Monday Post.

Leave a Reply

