Mondays With Megan-End of Summer Reading and Recommend A…#8

Hi All! I’m back from my relaxing staycation and getting ready for back to school at the library. Last week I missed checking in with my favorite Monday memes, but I am back on track now. So, rather than dwelling on the fact that summer is almost over (actually, I am totally fine with saying goodbye to the summer heat. Give me cool fall days!) let me fill you in on how I have been spending my time.

First let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?
 

Finished since my last check-in:

I absolutely love Tana French, and her newest addition to the Dublin Murder Squad series does not disappoint! Insurgent was on my TBR list for the summer. I loved it (holy twist at the end!) and also enjoyed crossing it off the list. A review of Darkest Minds will be forthcoming. The others were enjoyable, but not very noteworthy.

I am still working on 11/22/63 by Stephen King. I am on disc 25 of 30 and while I am desperate to know how things end up for Jake Epping, I will be sad when in is over. It’s that good. I don’t know what I will pick to listen to next as this will be a tough act to follow. I am considering Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein or A Discovery of Witches by Deborah Harkness. Decisions, decisions.

Currently reading:

Ok, so A Storm of Swords is totally monopolizing my time. The Lost Prince is an ARC on my Nook that I have been reading in fits and starts and Agnes and the Hitman is my new Playaway for walks/runs. I have finally accepted the fact that I am just not going to get other reading done until I am all caught up with the A Song of Ice and Fire saga. I apologize now and in advance to all the books I have been and will be neglecting in favor of George R.R. Martin’s book crack. I will take a teeny-tiny break after A Storm of Swords so that I can read Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas. Everything else will just have to wait.

What are you reading?

Moving on.

How about some recommendations? Let’s visit Chick Loves Lit for this week’s Recommend A…

…2012 Debut Author. I am a little embarrassed to admit that I have not read very many 2012 debuts. I am not sure why. But, I definitely have two that I highly recommend, and that’s all I really need for today, right?

Do you love a good fractured fairy tale or retelling? You will want to check out Cinder by Marissa Meyer. It is so darn awesome. Cinderella as a cyborg. Brilliant.

I really struggle with nonfiction, but I do enjoy good memoir. For a laugh-out-loud read, check out Jenny Lawson’s (The Bloggess) hilarious and heartfelt autobiography, Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. I seriously have a new appreciation for taxidermied animals. I never thought I would say something like that. But it’s true.

What amazing debut have I missed this year? Let me know so I can start a list!

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-End of Summer Reading and Recommend A…#8

  1. I’ll have to check back for your review of Darkest Minds. I read the author’s debut a year or two ago, and quite enjoyed it.

  2. I just finished Insurgent last week as well and really enjoyed it. :)
    The Lost Prince is on my tbr list. I hope you are enjoying it.

    Have a nice week.

  3. I *loved* Code Name Verity. Definitely read that one soon!

  4. I just finished The Lost Prince and I loved it! I’ve heard lots of good things about Cinder so may need to pick it up to check it out myself. Here’s my reading list this week: http://bit.ly/PAxsbj Happy reading!

  5. Love your weekly Recommend A… It is a great addition to the Monday meme.
    I haven’t read most of what you listed except Insurgent and I have Darkest Mind on my soon TBR.
    Hope you have a great week and
    Happy reading this week! :)

  6. The Pregnancy Project sounds very interesting!

    Have a great week of reading :)

  7. I gave my boyfriend Game of thrones recently (since I love the books) and WHAT A MISTAKE! I get zero attention now :) So don’t worry, we will all understand!

Leave a Reply

