Mondays With Megan-Rainy Day Blues, What Are You Reading, and Recommend A…#9

It’s a rainy Monday morning here in Cleveland and I have to confess that this gray weather totally matches my mood. I wish I was back home in bed with my book. Alas, it is not meant to be so, time to buck up and get busy!

In non-book related news, I finally finished watching the fifth and final season of Friday Night Lights. I never thought I would fall in love with a show about high school football, but I did. If you missed it while it was on the air (like me), I highly recommend going back and giving it a shot. I am trying to figure out who I am going to talk into watching it with me again!

On to book news. Let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for another edition of It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

  

My major accomplishment of the week? I finished 11/22/63 by Stephen King! You guys, it was amazing. Five stars. Everyone should read it, even people who say they don’t like Stephen King. I also finished Cinderella: Fables Are Forever by Chris Roberson. It’s an interesting spin-off, but I don’t love it like I love Fables.

I cannot start a new book until I have finished the one that is currently monopolizing all the space in my brain that is allotted for books. I am still working on:

A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin. I really thought I would finish this weekend, but I spent yesterday outside in the woods and then later running errands. I’ll finish this week.

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa. This Iron Fey spin-off is great! I am about half way through and hope to finish this week so I can start Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siohban Dowd.

Agnes and the Hitman by Jennifer Crusie and Bob Mayer. Meh. Keeps me distracted while I am walking and jogging.

I do have one new book for this week:

Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein is my new book on CD. I did a lot of driving this weekend so I may finish it up this week. If I do, next up is Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I tried to read it, but couldn’t get into it. Maybe I will enjoy it more if someone reads to me? Admittedly, I did not get very far the first time.


When I finish A Storm of Swords I will read Throne of Glass by Sarah Maas. Hopefully all this awesome reading material will put an end to my cranky mood! Now for some recommendations.

Chick Loves Lit says:

…book with a character who plays a sport. I have two for you.

1. Pop by Gordon Korman. You can read my review for more details, but I love this book about football.


Looking for a female lead?

2. Megan Meade’s Guide to the McGowan Boys by Kate Brian.

Megan Meade is a star soccer player in this cute romance.

Ok, that’s all for me today.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan-Rainy Day Blues, What Are You Reading, and Recommend A…#9

  1. For whatever reason I love books with female lead. Probably because I can relate. haha. I’ll look into that book! :)

    Ohh…Jenkies!

  2. Male lead! I like that! I just cant buy all these female football player books, except I do really like Dairy Queen… Pop sounds great!

  3. Wow. So many great books in this post! I just read my first volume of Fables this week. I LOVED it! Didn’t realize there was a spinoff, although the arwork on the cover does look familiar for some reason. Just today I received an ARC for The Lost Prince. I’ve been meaning to read one of Kagawa’s books. They are super popular at my library. I own the audiobook for Code Name Verity but have not listened to it yet. I LOVED reading the print copy and thought I would enjoy having the audiobook as well. Daughter of Smoke and Bone does improve the more you get into it. I enjoyed it, although I’m not head over heals for it like some people are.

  4. I haven’t read the Cinderella books in the Fables series yet but my friend Amanda has them and will lend them to me eventually and am looking forward to it.
    I have Code of Verity and Daughter of Smoke & Bone to read, but haven’t gotten to them yet.

    Happy reading this week! :)

  5. I’ve been considering that King book for a while now. The last few things of his that I read felt a bit tired and rewarmed but I do keep hearing about how this is different from his other work, I may have to give it a whirl!

    Have a fantastic week of reading!!

  6. I’ve heard such great things about Code Name Verity. It’s a pick for the book club I’m in. Maybe I’ll read it and actually get to go…

Leave a Reply

