Top Ten Tuesday Tell-All: Bookish Confessions

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, is a true confessions exposé. Even the biggest book lover has some dirty little bookish secrets lurking in their closest. Today those secrets are coming to light. Please don’t judge us too harshly.

Bookish confession #1: I have a library book that I checked out in high school. Twenty years ago.  It was for a report on the history of airplanes.  I did not return it on purpose. I am a book thief.

Bookish confession #2: I do not know where the above stolen library book is now. I am an irresponsible book thief.

Bookish confession #3: I have a sizable collection of  lovely bookmarks. At any given moment there is a scrap of paper or a receipt stuck in my book. The lovely bookmarks are collecting dust.

Bookish confession #4: Sometimes I can’t even be bothered to use a scrap of paper and I just leave my books open, face down, on my spot.

Bookish confession #5: I buy books and do not read them.

Bookish confession #6: I hoard new library books. I get to buy them for my library and I usually put myself on hold for them first. Sometimes I think of this as a job perk and also necessary so I can talk them up to my patrons. Sometimes I think this is just bad behavior.

Bookish confession #7: I hate full-cast audio books. Always.

Bookish confessions #8: I have never read a James Patterson book. I probably never will. Ditto for Catcher in the Rye.

Bookish confession #9: I have a handful of books that are very special to me and therefore do not get loaned out. Aside from that, I freely share my books and don’t really care that much what happens to them when they are out of my control. They are just books after all.

Bookish confession #10: This is not a confession. It is a truth. Vanilla lattes taste better with a book.

What bookish skeletons are in your closet?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday Tell-All: Bookish Confessions

  1. This made me laugh, out loud! What a fun post! Thanks Megan

  2. Perhaps we should just call you Liesel Meminger, you book thief you.

    I also buy books and then they just collect dust on my shelves.

    In all seriousness though, there is nothing quite so delicious as a vanilla latte and a book.

    My TTT

  3. I have a lot of bookmarks to and I typically use the same blogger business cards all the time.
    I haven’t read Patterson’s books either, but I do own a lot of the Angel books to one day read. I have to read them since my sister who doesn’t like to read actually read the series and liked it.
    I think I read Catcher in the Rye in school and I don’t like it at all, along with all those other stupid classics, they just don’t work for me.

    http://kristina-worldofbooks.blogspot.com/2012/08/top-10-tuesday-22.html

  4. I knew there was a reason all the new books are never available at the library!! You librarians are getting them all… hahah i love it and would do the SAME thing!! Don’t feel bad about Catcher in the Rye, I found it completely pointless!! I like your confessions, they’re good ones :)

    My TTT

  5. I love your #3. I have a bunch of bookmarks, and then use receipts or pieces of mail or whatever to hold my place in my books.
    And I’d totally hoard library books if I worked for one. :)

  6. #1 is just plain shocking! :) I’m guilty of not using bookmarks too – I tend to like to use scrap paper so I can tear off pieces to mark good quotes I like. I’ve never read or plan to read James Patterson either.

Leave a Reply

