Mondays With Megan-In Which I Fully Commit to George R.R. Martin and Recommend A…#11

I squeezed one last beach trip and a whole lot of reading into my weekend and it was fabulous! I got to see the sharks being fed at the aquarium (not as bloody and awesome as one would imagine) and Sunday was spent poking dead fish on the beach and digging for sea glass. Good times. As for my reading, I scrambled to finish everything that I had started so that I have dive back into the crazy world of George R.R. Martin. I realized that taking breaks in between books is not working for me. I can’t concentrate on the other books that I try to read because I can’t stop thinking about what is going to happen next for the Starks and Lannisters and dragons. Of course, just as I finally come to terms with fact that I need to read A Feast For Crows and A Dance With Dragons immediately and without pause, a new MUST READ opportunity arose. At some point this week an advanced reader copy of The Diviners by Libba Bray will be coming my way. Normally this close to the publication date I would just wait my turn for the library copy, BUT….there’s a but. I am roadtripping to Cincinnati to see the fabulous Libba Bray next week and I want to be prepared. So the deal is I start A Feast for Crows, pause long enough to read The Diviners and then it’s all Game of Thrones all the time until I get to join the ranks of people desperate for the yet-to-be-published continuation of the saga. Because then I’ll feel so much better. Anyway. You know what today is…

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for more great lists and tons of recommendations.

Finished:

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas-This one has gotten lots of buzz and I really enjoyed it. It probably won’t make it onto a favorites list, but I will definitely recommend it and watch for the sequels.

The Lost Prince by Julie Kagawa-I did get lost in this one the same way I did with the original series, but I really enjoyed revisiting familiar characters and the new fey are pretty creepy/cool. I’m on board and will continue reading the series.

Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli-This is my Teen book club book and I read it in one sitting. It’s short and sweet and I hope my readers enjoyed it as much as I did.

Listening to:

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor-It took a while, but I am hooked. The language and imagery in this book is beautiful and the story is definitely unique. I am glad I finally decided to give this one another chance.

The Expats by Chris Pavone-This spy novel is keeping me company on my walks.

 

This week:

The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure-I am plugging along and thoroughly enjoying this Little House on the Prairie inspired memoir.

The Diviners by Libba Bray.

A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin.

I am so excited about my reading! What are you working on?

Chick Loves Lit is once again asking for some great reads. This week it’s time to

…book read on vacation. My vacation this year was almost entirely monopolized by A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin, which I highly recommend, but I am worried about becoming a “one way monkey” (Project Runway anyone?), so I am going to recommend some other books that make great vacation reads.

For you mystery lovers, check out Tana French. The four books in her Dublin Murder Squad series are full psychological tension, perfectly flawed and realistic characters, and settings so vivid you will feel you are in Ireland. I devoured her most recent book just days before my vacation this year (I couldn’t wait!) and need more. They don’t need to be read in order, but here they are in order of publication:

Need a YA fix for vacation? How about some swoony, yet bada** vampires? Check out the Drake Chronicles by Alyxandra Harvey.

Something less girly? How about something with spies, shapeshifters, and steampunk? I love Arthur Slade’s The Hunchback Assignments series.

What did you take on vacation?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

8 responses to “Mondays With Megan-In Which I Fully Commit to George R.R. Martin and Recommend A…#11

  1. Yes, yay! for Tana French. Do you recommend her to your older teen patrons? Such interesting and complex characters. I too read Wilder Life and loved it . . . just the right amount of campy + info. I think I’m the only person on the planet who hasn’t read a George RR Martin book, but I’ll get there someday! :)

  2. Sea glass! I only got to go look once this summer. Have you read “Pure Sea Glass?”

  3. I so agree with you about the George Martin series – breaks are not wise. I’m about to start A Feast for Crows too.

  4. I’ve only read A Game of Thrones but I am eager to read the rest of the books once I get caught up on some review books and library books. I’d forgotten about Blood Moon so I’m glad you featured that series. I’ll have to check it out sometime. I also want to read The Diviners. I’ve only heard good things so far. Not so sure about Throne of Glass though I do have a review copy I need to get to…

  5. Hi there, I know what you mean about Game of Thrones as I’m reading the series myself (my husband and I breezed through both seasons of the TV series). I’m now in Book 3 (A Storm of Swords), but I’m also reading quite a few on the side – have to multi-task unfortunately. In fact the past two evenings, it has taken a back seat, as I’m a little wrapped up in preparing for our next bimonthly theme (Books about Books).

    Stargirl is also a personal favorite. Do you have a copy of Love, Stargirl? I’d love to know what you thought of the sequel.

  6. Those Tana French books have been on my radar for so long I have no idea how I haven’t read them yet. They sound fantastic! That’s so awesome about you roadtripping to see Libba Bray, I can’t wait for The Diviners, it sounds great! :)

  7. I loved The Hunchback Assignments! I haven’t read the second one yet. Star Girl is very good too (I read it a while ago but I remember loving it).
    I am going to check out the Tana French books :) You have a great list.

Leave a Reply

