Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Make You Think (About Life, People, the World, etc)

It’s Tuesday and that means another edition of Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we are talking about books that made us stop and think. I admit that I do love a good fluff book or an action packed adventure that is so perfectly executed that there is not time to think about how I would have escaped the zombies/evil angel/crazy vampire queen. But sometimes you find that book. You know the one. The one that makes you pause. Makes you wonder what you would do or say or feel. Makes you think what if…That book that sticks with you long after you’ve read the last word. That book is amazing.

Let’s get the slightly cliche classic out of the way first.

1. To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee. Imagine what the world would be like if everyone lived like Atticus Finch?

2. I am the Messenger by Marcus Zusak. Oh, Ed Kennedy, I love you and your smelly dog. This book reminds me that small actions can have a big impact on someone.


3. The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks by Rebecca Skloot. There is so much to ponder in this one. The story is heartbreaking and the medical ethics involved is thought-provoking. This is an amazing story.

4. Speaking of medical ethics…The Adoration of Jenna Fox by Mary E. Pearson. This one will leave you pondering what exactly it means to be human. Literally. I can’t wait to give my book club this one.

5. Uglies by Scott Westerfeld. This one will have you thinking about conformity, beauty, and popularity. Bonus points for an action-packed adventure with hover boards.

6. Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth. The ultimate what if… What if there was a crazy natural disaster that forever altered life as we know it? I would totally miss ice cream. And TV. And the warmth of the sun, of course.

7. The Marbury Lens by Andrew Smith. This book haunts me. The lines between reality and fantasy are non-existent. It’s dystopian, it’s steampunk. It’s totally messed up and fascinating and disturbing. It’s about post-traumatic stress and friendship and IT HAS A SEQUEL. Oh. My. God. I don’t know if I can handle it!

8. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John. If you have ever read my blog, even just once, chances are pretty good that you know how I feel about this book. I love it. I love Piper. I love her transformation. I love that she does not let her disability define her or hold her back. I like to think about that.

9. Drowned Cities by Paolo Bacigalupi. It’s set in a fictional place, in a fictional time, and the fictional kids are fighting a fictional war, but this really made me think about the real life impact of war on children. This is a tough read, but worth it. You also get healthy dose of nature vs free will with the character Tool.

10. 11/22/63 by Stephen King. This one is all about changing the past, the Butterfly Effect, the what ifs. When I think about some of the major events in my life I can’t help but wonder what if things had been different, what if I could go back and change things. In the end of this book you learn the answer to that what if question. It’s shocking. I loved this book.

Honorable Mentions:

What books are on your list?

Happy Reading!

ËśMegan

 

 

 

 

3 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Make You Think (About Life, People, the World, etc)

  1. Jenna Fox was my number one had me thinking all over the place, I also really loved how it challenged how far would you go to save someone you loved! Such a great thought provoking book but so fun to read too.

    marissa @ rae gun ramblings

  2. I really liked Henrietta Lacks too. I so need to get to 11/2/63!

  3. I loved To Kill A Mockingbird! It should have been on my list! And, I had Uglies too – great book!

Leave a Reply

