Mondays With Megan-I’d Rather Be in Bed Reading Today

My head is all stuffy and I am extra sleepy on this brisk Monday morning. This is the perfect excuse to lounge in bed with a book. Alas, I am not. But a girl can dream, right? I did not get much reading in this weekend because, to be completely honest, I watched a lot of television. I had a little coffeeshop/book time on Friday (A Feast For Crows!), but Saturday was work then play with little time or energy to read. I did however have an incredible meal and dining experience at the Greenhouse Tavern. Places like this really help with my hometown pride-Yay Cleveland! Yesterday I really felt blah so I planted myself on the couch and dove into season 7 of Weeds. I forgot how ridiculous and fun that show is! So, all in all not a very productive weekend, but sure did enjoy myself.

This is going to be a busy week-I have a healthy snacks from Earth Fare tomorrow, my Libba Bray road trip on Wednesday, and a practice SAT test here at the library on Saturday. In between I need to write some reviews! But that is getting a bit ahead of myself, because right now it’s time for a new list!

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Be sure to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Text for more great reading suggestions.

Finished:

Burn for Burn by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian. Review to come. I will say it was a quick and compulsive read.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. I am so glad I gave this one another shot and I am excited for the next one.

 

Currently Reading:

Diviners by Libba Bray. I don’t know if I can speed read my way through this 600 page monster before Wednesday, but I am going to give it my best shot. It’s really good and creepy so far.

Cinders and Sapphires by Leila Rasheed. This one is due out in January, just in time to get people excited about the new season of Downton Abbey. Ladies maids, ancestral estates, ambition, power, and secrets. Heck yeah! So excited.

Hot Six by Janet Evanovich. I did not have a new audio lined up, so it’s time to head back to reliable old Stephanie Plum. I will finish this series some day!

Expats by Chris Pavone. I should be finished listening to this one by the end of the week. It’s intriguing and full of twists and turns.

How about one last nod to summer?

Chick Loves Lit says

…book that reminds you of summer. How about books about travel and getting over a broken heart?

Unbreak My Heart by Melissa Walker and Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard totally fit the bill!

 

What book makes you think of summer?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-I’d Rather Be in Bed Reading Today

  1. These look so good. I just got Diviners and can’t wait to read it. Expats looks very intriguing. I read Daughter of Smoke and Bone but a while ago. Looking forward to your reviews.

  2. Burn for Burn sounds so good! I really want to read Daughter of Smoke and Bone :)
    And yes, Stephanie Plum!! She’s awesome!
    Happy reading! :)

  3. Daughter of Smoke and Bone – that cover just always grabs me! Need to read it :)

  4. I just requested the audiobook of The Diviners at my library. I’ve heard it’s incredibly creepy. Looking forward to listening to that one!

    Speaking of creepy, I really enjoyed the creepy setting of Prague in Daughter of Smoke and Bone. That was actually my favorite part of the whole novel: the setting.

  5. I hope Cinders and Sapphires will be more to my taste than Wentworth Hall. I love Downton Abbey and am keeping myself content by reading spoilers for Season 3 (I did the same thing with Season 2 and it didn’t keep me from enjoying the show when it finally aired here)

    I am glad you liked Daughter of Smoke and Bone too. I usually don’t give books a second chance but maybe I should sometimes.

    Have a great week and have fun meeting Libba Bray. I’ve heard that book is excellent.

  6. I’ve never heard of Cinder and Sapphires, but the little you mentioned makes me curious! You’ve got some great books you’re starting.

Leave a Reply

