Mondays With Megan-I Got to Meet Libba Bray and What Are You Reading?

I do love a good road trip and last week’s sojourn to Southern Ohio was certainly the duck’s quack (a flapper gem from the book). YA super star, Libba Bray, is currently on tour promoting her new book, The Diviners (check her schedule and go see her!) and I my pals and I eagerly hit the road to make the four-hour drive to Cincinnati. Totally worth it. The evening was full of treats (and swag), including an exclusive reading from a never before seen story written by 10-year old Libba. She also shared a little about her childhood, her writing process, and her research methods. And while she slyly mentioned that she was the lead singer for Tiger Beat, the only all-YA-author band on the planet, she politely declined to sing the super creepy Naughty John ditty from The Diviners. It’s probably for the best. I can totally do without nightmares. In addition to taking home signed books and cute flapper pins, we also got to leave with the giant promotional banner-our prize for traveling the farthest. Cleveland for the win! I am finished with The Diviners (devoured that bad boy in less than a week),  have passed my copy on to a friend, and have put everyone else I know on hold for it. You should do the same. Really. Hopefully I will get my act together and write a proper review instead of all this fan-girl gushing (not that there in anything wrong with fan-girl gushing…).

Anyway. Time to check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Text for my favorite Monday meme, It’s Monday! What Are You Reading!

Finished:

The Diviners by Libba Bray. Amazing. Read it.

Mothership by Martin Leicht. I really need to write a review for this one. Laugh-out-loud awesomeness.

 

These were both awesome reads and I enjoyed them very much, but now I am back to my regularly scheduled reading….A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin. I have just over a week before The Mark of Athena arrives and I would love to be finished with this fourth book by then.

I also need to squeeze a copy of graphic novels in this week. I have The Walking Dead, vol. 15 by Robert Kirkman and iZombie vol. 1-3 by Chris Roberson at home waiting for me. I will spare you the cover images for these. They are kind of gross. I’m excited!

I am still working on At Somerton: Cinders and Sapphire by Leila Rasheed, The Expats by Chris Pavone, Hot Six by Janet Evanovich, and The Wilder Life by Wendy McClure.

What are you working on this week?

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

 

 

7 responses to “Mondays With Megan-I Got to Meet Libba Bray and What Are You Reading?

  1. Oh wow – you had a great week!

  2. Great week, Expats is still on my Wishlist, look forward to that review.

  3. I just started The Diviners and so far I like it a lot. I can’t wait to read The Mark of Athena either. I know that I will put aside whatever I am reading at the moment to pick it up the day it is released.

    Glad you enjoyed the book signing!

  4. I know about Libba Bray’s Beauty Queens but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. And now she has a new book! Oh wow, I’m beginning to think that I am waaaaay too late for the Libba Bray party. I just bought her “Rebel Angels” from the Library Book Sale, am looking forward to reading it.

  5. I can’t agree more about The Diviners and Libba Bray. Fantastic book, even more fantastic person.

  6. I didn’t know you were in Cleveland! I’ve thought about driving to events down in Cincinnati before, since they get some great authors down there, but I’ve always thought it would be too long of a drive — it’s about 5 hours for me.

    Mothership is in my car. I’m hoping to start and finish it before it’s due. I almost returned it and said I’d get it out again later, but I reread the back and knew I wanted to try to get to it because it looked so funny.

Leave a Reply

