Mondays With Megan-I Read Banned Books and I Like it.

This year marks the 30th anniversary of Banned Book Week or, as this awesome American Library Associate badge says:

Nice.

According to the ALA, most book challenges are initiated by parents who have the desire to protect children from what they deem to be inappropriate material. The most common reasons that books are challenged are because they are “sexually explicit”, they contain “offensive language”, or they are “unsuited to age group.” It’s perfectly reasonable for a parent to deny their own child access to materials they deem inappropriate, but it is not reasonable for a parent to decide what is inappropriate for other children. I think the Banned Book Week slogan from 2010 says it perfectly: “Think for your self and let others do the same.”

So, what books are causing a ruckus? Be sure to visit the ALA website for a complete list of challenged and banned books. Here are some highlights to pique your curiosity.

In 2011 there were 326 book challenges reported. Of those, the most frequently challenged books were the IM Girls series (ttyl, ttfn, l8r, g8r) by Lauren Myracle.

Holding down the number 3 spot on the 2011 Top Ten Most Challenged Books list is The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. This series has moved up from the five spot in 2010.

In 2009 To Kill a Mockingbird was the fourth most challenged book. It fell out of the Top Ten in 2010, but managed to claim the number 10 spot in 2011!

Another frequently challenged classic on the 2011 list is Brave New World by Aldous Huxley.

 Do you have a favorite banned or challenged book? Here are a few of mine:

Now, I wish that I could say that in honor of Banned Book Week I am reading a banned book, but sadly that is not the case. I am elbow deep in way too many books as it is!

 

Thank you Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for hosting It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

iZombie: Dead to the World by Chris Roberson is the first volume in a relatively new series starring a young female zombie named Gwen and her friends Ellie, a ghost, and Scott, a were-terrier. I did not love this one, but the premise is interesting so I will continue on with the series.

The Expats by Chris Pavone is a spy versus spy thriller that kept me guessing all the way to the end. This wasn’t your typical fast-paced, action-packed spy novel. Instead, the narrator Kate took her time telling her story, offering small glimpses into her past and present as she herself pieces together the puzzle that is the new American couple that has piques Kate’s suspicions. I had fun with this one.

Hot Six by Janet Evanovich is another fun Stephanie Plum novel. I always enjoy Stpehanie’s well-intended antics and the supporting cast is always full of colorful characters.

Started:

To be completely honest, I am probably going to return Casual Vacancy and let someone else have a turn first.

Still Working On:

This is too many! I am overwhelmed by my books and really need to finish something. Anything. Sigh. And of course, everything will be dropped like a hot potato the second I get my hands on The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan!

What are you reading?

˜Megan

3 responses to “Mondays With Megan-I Read Banned Books and I Like it.

  1. bummed to hear The Casual Vacancy isn’t completely riveting, but kudos for the Banned Books Week post. The more awareness we can raise on the subject, the better.

  2. I was surprised to find out that Little Women was a banned or challenged book. I still haven’t figured out why! I was also surprised to see The Lord of the Rings, one of my favorites, on the list. I am surprised that To Kill a Mockingbird is still making the list when it was required reading at my school. I wish I’d planned better so I could read a banned book this week but I will try to write a post instead.

    I don’t blame you for not wanting to read The Casual Vacancy. The reviews I’ve read (and spoilers) hint that I won’t like it. I am really excited about The Mark of Athena. I am currently rereading the first book in the series and plan to reread The Son of Neptune too before I read the new one (though it will be hard!).

  3. Thank you for highlighting books for Banned Book Week! I loved that slogan too. One of my favorite banned books is The Absolutely True Diary of a Part Time Indian.

Leave a Reply

