Top Ten Tuesday-Top Ten “Older” Books I Hope People Don’t Forget

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, is all about past favorites, those awesome books that could get lost in the whirlwind excitement of NEW BOOKS! I must confess that I have only been reading YA for about five years now, so my idea of “older” titles is a little wonky. Also, I am a member of that generation who went from Nancy Drew to V.C. Andrews to Anne Rice, all before getting a driver’s license. Some of you know what I mean, right? Please? So my list is a veritable smorgasbord of titles.

Childhood Favorites: These really are older books!

1. Little House on the Prairie series by Laura Ingalls Wilder. I wanted to be Laura. Sometimes I still sort of want to be her.

2. Island of the Blue Dolphin by Scott O’Dell. Honestly, I remember very little about this one except that I LOVED IT.

3. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle. See above. Added bonus for having a character named Meg.

YA Favorites read as an A: Newer “Older” Books

4. The Dark is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper. These are more children’s/middle grade and this cover is pretty unappealing, but I read them as an adult and loved them. I can’t wait for my nephew to be old enough to read these.

5. The House of the Scorpion by Nancy Farmer. My middle school book club just read this and they loved it. They were also shocked when I pointed out that the book was published in 2002! Ten years ago? *gasp* It’s so old. Nothing about it feels dated, making it a truly timeless book. That is until human cloning is perfected, and then this will seem antiquated and cute.

6. Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer. This is another book that is pushing the big 1-0. The beautiful thing about books with a historical setting is that they age well. The stories are always “old.” Jacky Faber is my hero and I want everyone to always lover her. I know I will.

7. The Gemma Doyle Trilogy by Libba Bray. I hope that people who are discovering Libba Bray because of The Diviners will go back and read her first series. Again, you can’t go wrong with magic, smart sassy girls, and an awesome Victorian boarding school setting! Everything cool happens at boarding schools.

Adult Books that I read as a Teen and I turned out just fine…

8. Paddy Clarke, Ha, Ha, Ha by Roddy Doyle. I read and love Trinity by Leon Uris while I was in high school and went on to read a lot of contemporary Irish authors. Roddy Doyle was my favorite. I later discovered Marian Keyes, who offers a much lighter fare.

9. A Prayer for Owen Meany by John Irving. I also discovered and devoured every John Irving book I could get my hands on while I was in high school. It’s hard to pick a favorite from that time period. I think I loved them all.

10. High Fidelity by Nick Hornby. Ah the angst. Loved the book, loved the movie. Ok, I was actually in college when this one came out. I wasn’t even teen anymore, but I was totally still a young adult. I totally read some awesome stuff in high school and college. That might explain why there are so many classics that I have never read…that list is shamefully long.

Runner’s Up: The Princess Bride by William Goldberg, The Bean Trees by Barbara Kingsolver, and Lamb: The Gospel According to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore.

What’s on your “Oldies but Goodies” List?

Happy Reading!

ËśMegan

8 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday-Top Ten “Older” Books I Hope People Don’t Forget

  1. A Wrinkle in Time is the only one of these that I’ve read…but I honestly didn’t like it that much at the time. That was 14ish years ago though. Maybe I need to check it out again.

    Check out my TTT.

    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

  2. High Fidelity is one of my all time favorite books and I love the movie too. (regular reviews on my blog notwithstanding!)

    And the soundtrack! The inclusion of Most of the Time started a huge Bob Dylan phase for me. Also still a favorite!

    I’m so excited to see it on a fellow bloggers list.

  3. Oh Little House on the Prairie! I can’t believe I forgot that one-it’s amazing! I love all of the Laura Ingalls books!

  4. I think I have a vague memory of reading Bloody Jack once upon a time. Looks like it’s time to read it again!

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-top-ten-older-books-you.html

  5. Love the Gemma Doyle trilogy. Great list, I haven’t read most of these, guess I best get to it.

  6. And I find myself saying “Yeah, Dark is Rising! Yeah, House of the Scorpion! Yeah, Bloody Jack!” As always, impeccable taste :)

  7. The Gemma Doyle trilogy is on my list too!

    I’ve read a few of these, like A Wrinkle in Time and the Laura Ingalls books (some of them…). I think I read the dolphins one but to be honest I can’t quite remember :p

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT :)
    Chloe @ YA Booklover Blog

  8. There are a few I’ve heard of and some which are on my TBR pile :) thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

