Mondays With Megan: Goodies at My Door and What Are You Reading?

Happy Monday Everyone! I got an awesome surprise on my doorstep this weekend:

The ARC of Rebel Heart had me doing a little happy dance, but LOOK! Bonus paperback copy of Blood Red Road! So, obviously I am currently reading Rebel Heart, but let’s check in with Book Journey and Teach Mentor Texts for

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?

Finished:

Death of a Kleptomaniac by Kristen Tracy. See review.

The Mark of Athena by Rick Riordan. LOVED. And as I suspected, the best one yet! Holy cruel cliffhanger.

Last Laughs: Animal Epitaphs by J. Patrick Lewis and Jane Yolen. I loved this gruesome and morbid picture book, but sensitive animal lovers may not find it funny. Here is a sampling for you:

Ciao, Cow

This grave is peaceful,
the tombstone shaded,
but I’m not here-
I’ve been cream-ated. (pg 9)

I am also quite fond of this one:

Flickering Moth

Here lies a moth
without a name,
who lived by the fire
and died by the flame. (pg.13)

The illustrations are irreverent, morbid, and even gross. Man, it was awesome! I wish I could show you the dead horse picture-it’s my fav. I highly recommend looking for this one!

Currently Reading:

Rebel Heart by Moira Young. This sequel to Blood Red Road is due out October 30. I am so lucky!

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater. I am currently listening to this on my car. I am proud of myself for being able to set aside my feelings about her previous works and enjoy this engaging and unique story.

A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin. I tell you, the universe does not want me to zip through this series. This poor books keeps getting set aside, but I promise to get back to it and maybe even finish it this week!

I am so looking forward to Dewey’s 24-Hour Read-a-thon this weekend! I need to do some serious catching up on my TBR pile. I am still working on my read-a-thon line up. Stay tuned.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

6 responses to “Mondays With Megan: Goodies at My Door and What Are You Reading?

  1. Great bunch! I’m in the middle of the Mark of Athena myself. I’m loving it so far. :D

    My It’s Monday post

  2. I’m really glad you are enjoying Raven Boys. My husband finally finished it, so I get to start it this week!
    I haven’t read any of the new Rick Riordan books but I have heard so many good things about Mark of Athena, I may need to add that to my TBR pile.
    The covers of the ARCs you got are gorgeous.

  3. I love puns, so your epitaphs from Last Laughs really were a treat for me. :) I will have to look for that book! I’ve been hearing a lot about it but haven’t dove into it yet.

  4. I just started reading The Mark of Athena. I love this series! Thanks for the heads up about the cliffhanger ending.

    I’m glad you like The Raven Boys. I like Maggie Stiefvater’s writing sometimes but it can also annoy me.

    I didn’t know the readathon is this weekend! I don’t have to work this Saturday so maybe I’ll sign up too.

  5. Great books this week! I’ve only read one Rick Riordan book before but I need to add to that number quickly. :)

    If you’d like to stop by, here’s what I’m reading this week.

    xo,
    JL

  6. I’ve seen Blood Red Road mentioned frequently in the context of the recent wave of YA dystopia, but I realize now that I don’t actually know much about it—based on your excitement about the sequel, I’m guessing both are worth checking out? I really love that cover art!

    Have a great week!
    Anna @ The Book Hutch
    What I’m Reading — Week of October 8, 2012

Leave a Reply

