Top Ten Tuesday (on Wednesday): Going Rogue Edition

Well, Tuesday totally got away from me! But I can’t bear to miss a list making opportunity. This week’s Top Ten Tuesday, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish, is supposed to be a rewind. But, instead of picking a favorite topic from the past and making a new list, I am going rogue and making my own topic. I call this week’s list The Top Ten Books That I Love, But Never Get Any Attention Because I am Always Blabbing About the Same Ten Books (You guys know what I am talking about!)

1. The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks by E. Lockhart.

A snooty boarding school setting, a long history of “the old boys club,” and one smart, sassy girl pulling off the most outlandish pranks. Oh, the love.

2. I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga.

More Jasper Dent, please! This is my first Barry Lyga book. I need to go back and read his other works.

3. Wicked Girls by Stephanie Hemphill.

This is a novel in verse about the Salem Witch Trials. I don’t usually enjoy novels in verse, but this one just sucked me right in.

4. The Sky is Everywhere by Jandy Nelson.

This one was a tear-jerker for me! It is a story of loss, grief, love, music, poetry, hope, and healing. Lovely.

5. The Forest of Hands and Teeth by Carrie Ryan

I haven’t mentioned this one in a while. This series was my first true zombie love. A must read for zombie fans.

6. Mostly Good Girls and Past Perfect by Leila Sales

I do love the dystopian/Sci-Fi reads, but even I need a break sometimes. Both of these novels are fresh, funny, and completely realistic. Teen characters, conversations, and situations all ring true. I look forward to whatever Ms. Sales has to offer next.

7. Clarity by Kim Harrington

This paranormal mystery stars a psychic sleuth. Great characters, a well thought out mystery, and mysterious hottie make this a great escape read. I can’t believe I haven’t gotten to the sequel, Perception.

8. Pop by Gordon Korman

Ok, fine. I have gotten a bit gushy about this one, but it’s so good! It has something for every reader. Seriously. Humor and pranks? Yes. Football? Check. Tragedy? Sadly. Friendship and romance (but not a bunch of kissy-kissy stuff)? You got it.

9. Forgotten by Cat Patrick.

This debut has such a unique premise. London Lane’s memories are not of the past, but of the future. Every day is a blank slate. Wrap your head around that.

10. Feed by M.T. Anderson

This one is so old (2002!) it’s practically a classic. A great sci-fi read about a future world where most people can control their environment via a computer implanted in their brains. People are always plugged in…not so far-fetched anymore. Still a must-read, I think.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

 

One response to “Top Ten Tuesday (on Wednesday): Going Rogue Edition

  1. I should really try Feed again. I gave up on it only after a few pages, but it’s just praised so many times I ought to try again.

Leave a Reply

