Top Ten Tuesday: You Are Here-More of These Settings Please!

toptentuesday

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday list, brought to you by The Broke and the Bookish is all about settings. To be honest, I usually only think of settings when they absolutely amazing. Otherwise, they are just sort of background noise. So it took some effort to come up with some settings that have really impresses me.

1. On the Road

road trip

I am a total sucker for a road trip book! I think that the best part about road trip books is that the setting is constantly changing. More, please.

2. Boarding School

hogwarts

Again, I have a soft spot for boarding school settings. Obviously Howarts is an excellent example of how awesome a boarding school can be, but there are plenty of great school settings out there and they aren’t necessarily magical. In fact, magic isn’t a requirement for me to love a boarding school.

3. The Future

future

When it comes to the future, I like it all. Does that count as a setting? I guess it’s more of a time period, but I am still going to count it because in most cases, the time influences the setting and that is what I like. I am not picky about my futuristic books. The good, the bad, the evil, the cyborgs, the cool techie gadgets. Bring it on!

4. Ireland

ireland

Tana French writes novels set in Ireland and her descriptions of the setting are so vivid that I truly believe I am there when I am reading. Some day I will get there. In the meantime, I will settle for reading about this beautiful country.

5. Castles

castles

Castles are a great setting. They exist all over the world and fit into just about any time period. They are quite versatile!

6. Steampunk

steampunk

Ok, I realize that steampunk is a genre, but the settings are so unique and in many was specific to the genre that I am including it on my settings list. It’s my list; I’ll do what I want!

7. Imaginary Worlds

westeros

I have really grown to appreciate fantasy and all the amazing worlds that can be found in an epic fantasy. Also, dragons are totally growing on me.

8. Isolated/desolate/remote areas

island

It doesn’t have to be an island. A remote cabin in the woods or a western ghost town will do just fine as well. Remote or desolate areas can add an element of tension to a story or peace and calm. How cool is that?

9. A Farm

farm

I recently got to spend time on my sister’s farm and it is a whole different world! I think I need to read more books with a rural or agricultural setting. Also, horses and goats are so cool.

10. Ohio/Cleveland

ohio

Finally, how about some hometown love? I have great love for my city, Cleveland, but I do enjoy a nice Ohio setting as well.

Where do you like your books to take you?

Happy Reading!

ËśMegan

9 responses to “Top Ten Tuesday: You Are Here-More of These Settings Please!

  1. I completely agree with your entire list. You can’t begin to imagine how happy it makes me to see farms popping up in post after post.

  2. Great list, I’d also would love to read more stories set in boarding schools, at castles and in the future as well.

  3. I would love to read more farm stories! What a good idea. And as per my own list, I’m all about the imaginary worlds.

  4. Oooo, I love books with castles! I love books with farms settings.

    Thanks for sharing :)

  5. Farm and castle settings really grabbed me! I definitely want to read more of those!
    I love imaginary worlds too- so much more intriguing!
    Great picks!
    My Top Ten!

  6. Oh, Ireland would be great! I know that there are loads of adult romances set in Ireland but I’d love to read about it in a YA book! Thanks for stopping by my blog earlier :)

  7. yay for Ireland, I have not read any steampunk novels yet but that genre had been fascinating to me. Imaginary worlds can be a lot of fun :)

  8. Love road trips and farms. Great choices!

  9. I’m all for road trip settings, just can’t miss a book on it. I love Take Me There by Carolee Dean, read it if you haven’t! Also, future settings are really cool especially the dystopian ones. Loving your list =D

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday post!

    Sana @ artsy musings of a bibliophile

Leave a Reply

