More Favorites of 2009

With 10 days left in 2009 I think I will add a few more books to my favorites list.

Gone by Michael Grant
What happens when everyone over the age of 15 suddenly disappears? What happens when some of the kids who remain develop unusual superpowers? Find out in this action-packed thriller. I could  not put this book down! The story continues in Hunger and I am anxiously awaiting the release of book three, Lies in May 2010 and Plague in April 2011. Fans of the Gone series will be happy to know that there are a proposed 7 books in the series.

The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
This book has been around since 2005, but it was only this year that I finally got around to finishing it. I attempted to read it a few times, but just could not get into it. Finally, I got it on CD and listened to it in my car. I am so happy that I gave the book a chance, it was amazing! It is the story of a young girl living through World War II. It is both horrifying and uplifting, disturbing and sweet. For anyone who has tried to read this and given up, I recommend listening to the book on cd; it is totally worth it.

Evermore by Alyson Noel
Ok, I realized as I looked back over the books I have read this year that I read a ton of science fiction and paranormal romances. What can I say, I like them! Evermore is another romance with a paranormal twist, but it is VAMPIRE-FREE, which I found refreshing after the slew of vampire books that followed Twilight. Ever is the sole survivor of an accident that killed her family. Since the accident she can see people’s auras and hear their thoughts. Because of this ability she goes out of her way to avoid people, until Damen shows up at school. If you want to know more about tall, dark, and handsome you’ll have to read this book! The story continues in Blue Moon and Shadowland.

That’s all for today, but stay tuned, I may have more.

˜Megan

One response to “More Favorites of 2009

  1. I’ve got The Book Thief on my to-read shelf, looks like I really need to read it soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

