Mondays With Megan: Nightschool by Svetlana Chmakova

Phew! What a busy weekend! Of course, maybe it just felt busy to me because I was at the library the entire weekend. Friday night was the After Hours Game Night here at the library. Me and 12 teens ate pizza and played video games (I did ok at Wii bowling, but I am a TERRIBLE drummer) after the library closed. This was the first time I have ever done anything like this and I have to say, I would do it again. I would do somethings differently, but overall I thought it was a good program.

And of course yesterday was the Superbowl, which seemed to me the perfect time to watch a movie. I watched The Proposal (pretty cute) and tuned in just in time to see some of the post game celebrations. I must admit that it made no difference to me who won, but I am always happy to see the underdog prevail.

With all the video game playing, working and movie watching I didn’t get too much reading done this weekend. I did however, discover a new graphic novel series that I really liked. Nightschool: The Weirn Books by Svetlana Chmakova is a manga-style graphic novel about the things that go bump in the night. Sarah is the Keeper-in-Training at the school for creatures of the night. When she mysteriously disappears her younger sister Alex heads to school to begin a search. In the meantime, something dark and dangerous is preying on the Hunters and no one seems to know what they are up against. Volume 1 ended on such a cliffhanger that I had no choice but to run back to the library (how convenient that I worked all weekend) and snatch up Volume 2. I am sad that I have to wait until April to get the third book.

My book list on the next page is current, so if you would like to see what else I have read check it out. I am almost finished listening to Life as We Knew It by Susan Beth Pfeffer and when I do I am moving on to The Curse of the Blue Tatoo by L.A. Meyer. This is book 2 of the Bloody Jack Series and I am so excited!

On my pile of books to read:
Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves (I am reading it now and it is really weird!)
Boys, Girls, and Other Hazardous Materials by Rosalind Wiseman
Undead Much by Stacey Jay
The Great and Only Barnum by Candace Fleming
Nightschool Vol. 2 by Svetlana Chmakova

Ok, that’s enough for today! Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

