Mondays with Megan: The Mountain Defeated Me

Oh boy, where to begin…it’s been 2 weeks since I last posted and so much has happened since then.

The good: I went on vacation! I packed a bunch of books (A Match Made in High School by Kristin Walker and Some Girls Are by Courtney Summers are the 2 I managed to finish) and headed out west to visit my sister. It was beautiful and relaxing until the last day…

The bad: I went face to face with a mountain and the mountain won. I took a nasty spill while skiing and for now I am hobbling around on crutches. Annoying, but I have been given a wonderful opportunity to literally put my feet up, relax,and read (and an excuse to not shovel all the snow we just got).

The bummer: I have to postpone this week’s Teen program. Trash Art-turning scratched CDs into disco balls-will be rescheduled, I promise. Stay tuned for the new date.

But let’s not dwell on all that. While I was in Montana I got to visit the local library. It is a tiny Carnegie Library, which means that it was built with funds from steel tycoon and philanthropist Andrew Carnegie. Between 1883 and 1929 Andrew Carnegie funded 1,689 libraries in the United States alone. More than half of these libraries still function as public libraries. Seeing their little library really made me appreciate Rocky River’s lovely library! Our “little library” is HUGE compared to my sister’s library in Montana.

Currently Reading: The Mark by Jen Nadol
To Read: Heist Society by Ally Carter and The Midnight Charter by David Whitley

Happy Reading

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

