Mondays With Megan: Youth Services Symposium Highlights

Hi everyone, I hope, despite the wacky weather, you had a nice weekend.

On Friday I spent the day at the Youth Services Symposium in Twinsburg. This day long event touched on a number of topics related to libraries and teens. In a nutshell, this is what I learned:

1. Teens do not blog or read blogs as much as they once did (figures).
2. Pop can tabs can be turned into really cool accessories and jewelry.
3. Dandi Daley Mackall, author of over 400 books, is hilarious and has had a fascinating life. I am looking forward to reading her newest YA book, My Boyfriends’ Dogs. I also am excited to have an signed copy of her book Crazy in Love to give away during Summer Reading.
4. I like winning prizes and seem to be on a little winning streak lately. Maybe I should play the lotto? I won a signed copy of The Tension of Opposites by debut author and Ohio native Kristina McBride. I am keeping that one, but I do have another signed copy to add to the library’s collection. Keep an eye out for it.

For more information about Kristina and her book, check out her website. Be sure to watch the cool trailer that was filmed in Kristina’s hometown of Centerville, Ohio.

For more information about Dandi Daley Mackall and her books and to read her book blog, visit her website.

I actually learned a lot more at the symposium, but those are the higlights!

Teen Events for this week: SAT Test Tips and Review Session with the professionals from Princeton Review. Tuesday May 11th 6:30-8:00pm in the Auditorium.

Currently Reading: Academy 7 by Anne Osterlund
Currently Listening to: In the Belly of the Bloodhound (Bloody Jack #4) by L.A. Meyer
To Read: Incarceron by Catherine Fisher, The Red Pyramid by Rick Riordan, and Nightschool,the Weirn Books, vol. 3 by Svetlana Chmakova

That’s all for now. Happy reading.

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

