Mondays with Megan: On My Desk

One of my favorite things about my job is ordering the books. I love reading all the book blogs, the publishers’ magazines, and new release catalogs. I love getting book requests from patrons and staff members. Once I order a book it’s time to sit back and wait for them to arrive, which brings me to another thing that I love…coming to work and finding a stack of new books waiting for me!

Today I had the following waiting:
Prey by Lurlene McDaniel. VOYA calls it a “dark and sinister romance” and checking in at just under 200 pages, this little paperback could be a perfect beach read.
Scandal by Kate Brian. This is the 12th book in the Private series. Looking for an exciting summer series? Maybe this is the one for you.
Little Vampire Women by Louisa May Alcott and Lynn Messina. This is another in the current  wave of classics being retold with a paranormal or sinister slant. If you like Pride and Prejudice and Zombies and Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters, you aren’t going to want to miss this one! I haven’t read it yet, but the cover is truly delightfully gruesome and just screams to be picked up.

See?

Ok, moving on. Summer programs are filling up fast, so please sign up if you want to attend the Red Cross Babysitting Training, tie dye T-shirt, or make bracelets. It’s easy-call the reference desk, stop by and see me, or register online. The next big event is Summer Reading! Start looking in the back of the closet and under the bed for any missing library materials. Bring the back on June 14th for the dance party and we will call it even, no fines. Not only that, we will have awesome music courtesy of local DJ Bence Toth, pizza, and prizes! Dance away some fines and sign up for the Summer Reading Program and get me one step closer to being a one-eyed pirate with hot pink hair.

Finally, my own reading report. I must confess, it’s quite a dismal report. My weekend was a whirlwind of family activities and I did not read at all (gasp!). I did manage to finish The Karma Club by Jessica Brody, which was a light, fun read. Again, perfect for the beach…

Currently Reading: Her by Laura Zigman, Whisper by Phoebe Kitanidis
Currently Listening To: In the Belly of the Bloodhound by L.A. Meyer (still! Again, the family time really cut in to my listening time)
Up next: I don’t dare make predictions this week, since it doesn’t seem work out anyway. We will all just have to wait and see what happens.

In the meantime, happy reading to all.

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

