June in Review

Goodbye June, Hello July.

We are half way through 2010, which seems to be a good time to access my progress on my reading goals. I have read 90 books so far this year. If I continue at this rate I will exceed my goal of 150 books read or listened to! I have already read 16 debut authors (the goal was 12) and I am definitely getting better at including graphic novels (I am up to 10 so far this year). The hardest part of my personal challenge has been reading a variety of genres. There is still an overwhelming majority of Sci-Fi/Fantasy books on my read list. I can’t help it that I love a good dystopian fiction or vampire love story! I am pleased to see more mysteries and even a few historical fiction books on my list this year. In fact, I think it is safe to say that my beloved Blood Jack series is historical fiction-not a vampire in sight, that’s for sure! I am still struggling with nonfiction. It’s just not my thing, but I am trying!

For some reason I am on a werewolf kick. Maybe I am subconsciously preparing myself for Linger, the sequel to Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater? Some of you may know that I was not very fond of that book, but have vowed to give the second one a chance since EVERYONE else thought it was the best book ever. Hmph. Anyway, the werewolf list:

Claire de Lune by Christine Johnson (read)
The Sisters Red by Pearce Jackson (reading-but I may have to pause in order to read the newest Ally Carter :))
Raised by Wolves by Jennifer Barnes (to read)
Wereling by Steve Feasey (to read)

With the release of the movie Eclipse I image the Vampires vs. Werewolves debate will continue. Up until recently I was most definitely on the Vampire side of the debate, but maybe some of these cool new werewolf books can change my mind. We’ll just have to wait and see…

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

