Mondays with Megan: Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman, the Cure for Glee Withdrawal

Last week I told you about some upcoming movies that are based on books. Tomorrow I will be showing The Princess Bride, a movie based on the book of same title by William Goldman. This is one of my favorite movies because it has a little bit of everything: comedy, action, adventure, and fantasy. If yo u haven’t seen it yet or just want to see it again join us in the auditorium at 3 tomorrow for popcorn and The Princess Bride!

Now, I know a lot of people are disappointed that Lebron is leaving Cleveland (I will admit that I am not among that crowd). Well, I have my own disappointment and it has nothing to do with basketball. Over the weekend I finished listening to Rapture of the Deep by L.A. Meyer, book 7 in the Bloody Jack series. I am not disappointed in the book (it was great, of course!), I am disappointed that it’s the last one…for now. Book 8, The Wake of the Lorelei Lee will be available in September, but I will have to wait until November for the audiobook! Rather than dwell on the sadness of this, I am trying to look on the bright side. I can now listen to the ever-growing stack of audiobooks that have been pushed aside because of dear Jacky! If you haven’t read or listened to any of the books in this series, I will once again highly recommend you do so!

If you are going through Glee withdrawal like I am, I recommend you try reading Enthusiasm by Polly Shulman. This book is the perfect fun, light summer read for both Jane Austen fans and Glee fans alike! Julie’s best friend Ashleigh discovers the joys of Austen’s Pride and Prejudice and is inspired to embark on her own quest for True Love. This quest leads the girls to a local all boys school where they meet the dreamy Grandison Parr. When the girls audition for and get parts in the school’s musical comedy and romance abound! I am so happy my dear coworker introduced me to Polly Shulman, just in time for her new book, The Grimm Legacy, which should be arriving at the library very soon!

Currently reading: How to Ruin a Summer Vacation by Simone Elkeles
Currently listening to: Blood Oath by Christopher Farnsworth

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

