Mondays with Megan: A Break From YA With Tana French and Christopher Farnsworth

Last week I decided to take a little break from reading YA books.  *Gasp* I know, shocking. But I am finding more and more often that my “go to” adult recommendations are either always checked out or everyone has already read them. It was time to find a few new “go to” adult reads. I will admit that it took me a while to get used to it-the pages are bigger, the print is smaller, and, well, there was no teenaged drama or hot vampires. But once I got over my initial shock I found myself totally absorbed in Tana French’s newest book Faithful Place. I have read and enjoyed her first two books and I enjoy recommending them to others. She writes mysteries that are not gruesome (weak stomach!) or scary (big baby) and she writes about Ireland in a way that makes me feel like I am there. The characters and their lives are as much a part of the story as the mystery. So, if you like mysteries that aren’t scary and stories about Ireland I recommend Tana French. Her first books are In the Woods and The Likeness.

I think I may have mentioned that I am also listening to a non-YA book on cd right now. I am almost finished with Blood Oath by Christopher Farnsworth, which does in fact have a hot vampire! I am really enjoying the story of the vampire that works for the President battling dark and supernatural threats, but I must admit that a few parts have made me a bit squeamish! I will be recommending this to fans of Dan Brown and Stephen King or anyone looking for a vampire story that doesn’t have teenagers or romance in it. I heard that this was the beginning of a series and despite some icky parts, I look forward to listening to more about the adventures of Nathaniel Cade, the President’s Vampire.

The third book that I read this week was a YA book. Letters to a Bullied Girl: Messages of Healing and Hope by Olivia Gardner is a collection of letters that Olivia received from thousands of strangers who felt compelled to reach out to her when they learned of how she was being bullied. This book was both heartbreaking and heartwarming and I am still trying to digest what I read. I think I will have more to say on the subject in the future, but for now I will say that I think this book should be required reading in every middle school and high school.

I am not sure what I am going to listen to next, but I do know that I am getting back into the YA reading with the second book in the Pretty Little Liars series and a werewolf book. I’m excited!

I am also excited to report that I have 158 teens signed up for Summer Reading! I just need 42 more and I am walking the plank as a pirate.

Happy Reading

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

