Mondays with Megan, In Which I Take a Break From Vamps and Other Paranormals

I have been in a bit of a reading slump lately so I have no new books to add to my list this week (so weird), but I am happy to report that I have found something that seems to be pulling me out of this rut. I must have needed a break from the paranormal because I am thoroughly enjoying a book without vampires, werewolves, magic, demons, or characters with super-sweet supernatural powers. What is this book that has none of my favorite things but  is still pretty amazing? The Cardturner by Louis Sachar! It’s about teenaged Alton, his blind great-uncle, a crazy girl, and bridge, the card game. I am not finished so you will have to wait until next week to hear more about it, but I can tell you right now that it is laugh-out-loud funny.

While you wait from me to return The Cardturner I suggest you pick up something by Gordon Korman. Maybe No More Dead Dogs? I am hoarding all the copies of that one because it’s for the new book club! Come get a copy and then join us on October 13th to talk about it.

Book club not your thing? How about video games? Tomorrow is the first video game day of the new school year. Join us in the auditorium after school for snacks and video games. I hope to see you there!

Happy Reading

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

