Mondays with Megan: Non-Creepy Author Stalking, aka My New Hobby

Hi all! I think it is finally time to tell you about my new hobby-attending author visits (and starting a personal collection of signed books). I have been to a few author discussions and book signings over the past few months and have had so much fun. I have also acquired signed books for library prizes (it’s never too early to think about summer reading….) So, if you hear of a YA author visit let me know! It all started with the Smart Chicks Kick It Tour. I had some time off so I drove to Cincinnati to see Kami Garcia, Margaret Stohl, Melissa Marr, Alyson Noel, Kelley Armstrong, Jeri Smith-Ready, and Jennifer Lynn Barnes. They were a lively panel, despite being at the end of a long tour. The highlight of the trip: Alyson Noel told me I had cool hair. Yay!

The next author I saw was Michael Grant. Stacey (see what she had to say here) and I had a much shorter trip to the east side where we met him at Joseph-Beth. I was so surprised that there were only two other people there, but it ended up being a great thing. The four of us pulled up chairs and had an interesting little chat with the hilarious and talented Mr. Grant (Gone, Hunger, Lies, The Magnificent 12). He talked a lot about how he writes and what he has planned for the rest of the series. He mentioned that there was talk about a TV show based on his books, and he gave great advice to the young writer in attendance.

Most recently, Stacey and I once again set off on an author related road trip. This time we headed to Novi, Michigan to see Scott Westerfeld. Scott is the author of one of my favorite YA series, The Uglies, but this tour was to promote the second book in his new steampunk series. Behemoth, the sequel to Leviathan, hit the shelves in October. He talked about how a Japanese copy of Uglies  inspired him to write an illustrated novel. He talked about the history of illustrated novels for adults and how technology (photography) ruined books with pictures. After that he took questions from the audience-there were tons-and then he signed books. The highlight (besides the hilarious and educational talk)? He signed every book in the Uglies box set (not just the box itself, which was all I was asking for) and then thanked us for being librarians *girlish squeal and happy dance*. Sigh.

I don’t know who I will get to see next, but I hope to get another trip in soon. In the meantime, I still have some books by the authors I have seen to finish. You should check some out too!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

