Mondays with Megan, In Which I Recreate the Insane Coversation that I Had With the Dog

Hi everyone, it’s Monday again, and despite a very rough start (see below) I am trying to remind myself that 1. it’s a short work week, 2. there will be Thanksgiving dinner soon, and 3. I am going to see HP7 this week and these are all good things. But first, the not so good start to the day (totally not book or library related, but an amusing tale):

Me (to the dog): Good Morning!
Bad Dog: *whines* It’s about time you got up jerkface, you were sleeping for 7 hours. Geez. So, are you feeding me first or taking me for a walk.
Me: *looks around living room, gasps in horror* WHAT DID YOU DO??!!??
Bad Dog: Oh, that? That’s nothing, wait til you see the dining room and kitchen. So, about that walk…
Me:*desperately attempting to not yell at the dog as I discover the contents of the trash strewn about the living room, dining room, and kitchen* WHAT DID YOU DO??!!??
Bad Dog: So I am going outside first? (as I slap the lead on and boot her out the door so I can clean up the mess)
Me: *clean up trash, vacuum coffee grounds out of carpet, feed the BAD DOG*
Bad Dog: *gobbles down food* Um, just so you know, forcing me to sit in the cold on the porch does not count as a walk. C’mon, c’mon, c’mon. Let’s go! I should also warn you now that I am going to act like I have never taken a walk before. Be prepared for me to stop directly front of you without any warning-you’ll probably trip over me. I think I will also get myself tangled around your legs and I will probably refuse to pee in the rain for a while. So, are we going yet?
Me: *mutters under breath* I hate you right now. Let’s go.

On the bright side, I had been meaning to vacuum all weekend and never got around to it but I got to check vacuuming off the To Do list at 6:30 this morning! The yucky Monday start does not change the fact that I had a wonderfully lazy weekend. I finally mastered the knitting loom and made 3/4 of a scarf. I am excited to finish it and start a new one! I read the fourth installment of Cirque du Freak, the manga by Darren Shan and the three books in the Auntie Claus series by Elise Primavera. Basically I read picture books this weekend and it was GREAT! The Cirque du Freak books have been on my TBR pile forever, but there has just never been time. But now that the series has been made into graphic novels I can read a book in a little over an hour! The story is exciting and I don’t feel like I am missing anything by not reading the novel. I recommend this series to anyone looking for a good horror series. There is some gore, but then again, it is horror!

I am still working on a few ARCs-The Midnight Palace by Carlos Ruiz Zafon and The Girl Who Became a Beatle by Greg Taylor. I am also struggling through Enchanted Ivy by Sarah Beth Durst. I am not sure if it is not clicking with me because I’ve been reading it before bed and I have just been too tired to concentrate or if it’s just not working for me. I will give it another try when I am not sleepy and let you know what happens. I am kind of all over the place with my reading lately!

Two last things. First, I have officially met my reading goal of 150 books for 2010. Yay. Second, tomorrow there will be a Minute to Win It style game day after school in the auditorium. Stop in for silly challenges, prizes, and snack!

That’s all for me today-Happy Reading

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

