Favorites of 2010, The Outtakes, Part 1

It’s that time of year again! The time to look back over the year and start thinking about the upcoming new year. Here at the library we like to share our favorite reads of the year. In case you missed it, there are a weeks worth if Top Ten lists on our blog, Read it or Weep. These staff favorites are mostly adult books, but I have a Top Ten Teen List and if you look closely you will find teen titles on at least 5 lists (further proof that YA literature is amazing and fun). Can you find them all? I did!

It took me forever to make my lists for the other blog (yes, I cheated and made two lists. What can I say? I love lists.) and I am quite satisfied with my choices (please review the list here so I don’t have to retype it, thank you.). However, there were so many to choose from that I feel a little sad for some of the books that didn’t make the cut. So now, I happily get to make a few more lists, yay! Without further ado, I now present some great books that didn’t quite make the final cut but are totally worth reading!

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly

Callie Tate would rather study science with her granddad than learn to be a proper lady. This book is sweet and charming.

Wicked Girls by Stephanie Hemphill

The events of the Salem Witch trials are told from the point of view of the accusers.  This book is told in verse.

Stone Child by Dan Poblocki

A small town is haunted by the monsters from a book. This is a creepy mystery.

Paranormalcy by Kiersten White

Evie can see through paranormal glamour so it’s her job to “bag and tag” them for the International Paranormal Containment Agency. This one was on my original list, but since Stacey had it on hers I picked a different title. Loved this book!

Ok, that’s all for today. I will have more for you next week. Don’t forget next Tuesday is the Teen Holiday Craft program from 3:30-5:00 in the auditorium.

Have a great weekend!

P.S. I tried to get those pictures to line up but they would not cooperate and I am too tired today to duke it out with the computer. You win today, but watch out, I’ll figure things out one of these days. Until then it’s wonky pictures.

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

