Mondays with Megan: My First Posting and Chi’s Sweet Home Review

HAPPY NEW YEAR! Welcome to the first Monday with Megan in 2011. I don’t know how you rang in the new year, but my celebrating was quite low-key. Take-out, and movies with friends. I think any year that starts out with Grease and Goonies has got to be good! Despite my lofty reading goals, I did not spend my holiday weekend with my nose in a book (I am totally hooked on knitting, I could be in trouble!), but I did plan out my first reads of the year. Have a look:

1. Out for Blood by Alyxandra Harvey-I didn’t get to it in 2010 like I thought, but I started it over the weekend and I should get to finish today. It’s great so far!
2. Five Flavors of Dumb by Antony John
3. Out From Boneville by Jeff Smith
4. ? audiobook-I have 1 disc left of Sir Thursday by Garth Nix so I need to hurry. Any suggestions?

These are my must-reads for this week. If I finish I will pick either a teen mystery or a teen historical fiction book. I am currently listening to Away by Amy Bloom on a Playaway.

The one book I managed to finish this weekend was a graphic novel called Chi’s Sweet Home Vol. 1 by Kanata Konami. This is a charming story of a mischievous little lost kitten who is found and adopted by a couple and their young son. They are not allowed to have pets in their apartment and try to give her away. Unsuccessful, they decide to keep the kitten and call her Chi. The first volume depicts Chi’s first days in her new house, her adventures in litter box training, her first dreadful trip to the vet, her first time left alone, and her first toys. There is very little text, but it is not necessary as the pictures alone tell the story. Chi is adorable, her hijinks are hilarious, and if her story could charm a non-cat person like me you know it has to be good. I am looking forward to more Chi’s Sweet Home! These books are located in our Adult Graphic Novel collection, but they are definitely appropriate for younger readers.

Yay! My first review of 2011. Piece of cake.

Looking ahead to next week: Join us Tuesday January 11th at 7 for Duct Tape Crafts. If you are interested please register so I know how much materials I need to provide.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

