Things That Made Me Happy Today

Yay! It’s Friday and this is my fifth day in a row posting to my blog. You might be thinking something along the lines of “what can she possibly have to say today?” I know that’s what I spent the morning wondering! I was starting to get nervous when two things happened.

First, I got an email from NetGalley.com saying my request to read an e-galley of Here Lies Bridget by Paige Harbison was approved. Here is a synopsis from the publisher:

Bridget Duke is the uncontested ruler of her school. The meanest girl with the biggest secret insecurities. And when new girl Anna Judge arrives, things start to fall apart for Bridget: friends don’t worship as attentively, teachers don’t fall for her wide-eyed “who me?” look, expulsion looms ahead and the one boy she’s always loved—Liam Ward—can barely even look at her anymore.

When a desperate Bridget drives too fast and crashes her car, she ends up in limbo, facing everyone she’s wronged and walking a few uncomfortable miles in their shoes. Now she has only one chance to make a last impression. Though she might end up dead, she has one last shot at redemption and the chance to right the wrongs she’s inflicted on the people who mean the most to her.

And Bridget’s about to learn that, sometimes, saying you’re sorry just isn’t enough….

I thought it sounded a little like Before I Fall by Lauren Oliver, which I really liked. Also, I have to admit, I really like a good mean girl story. Not sure why, but I do 🙂

I also think it’s pretty cool that the author is a 20-year-old college student. This will also count towards the Debut Author Challenge.

Second, I saw this:

The note says “Ignore the ugly cover, it’s a great book! And book 2 (The Demon’s Covenant) is already out. Book 3 comes out in May. Enjoy!”

The note was sticking out of the book, I took it out for the purpose of the photo. I really appreciate the fact that someone took the time to write that note. It’s true, the cover is not so great. I haven’t read the book, but I might have to add it to my list now that I know it’s a great book!

There, I did it! I blogged everyday this week. Have a great weekend everyone and I’ll see you back here Monday! Hopefully I will have at least one book ready for review and I may have a new reading challenge to tell about-I’m talking to you Stacey! Anyone else up for a reading challenge? Stay tuned to details.

Happy Reading

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

