Movie News

Hi, my name is Megan, and I am obsessed with the site stats section of my blog. I don’t think it’s a problem…yet. In fact, my obsession has led me to an interesting discovery. I think people are finding my blog because of the new Pirates of the Caribbean movie! Tee hee. Let me explain. I have been noticing over the past few weeks that an old post is getting new attention. Last September I did a little post in honor of Talk Like a Pirate Day. In the title space I put the old pirate movie joke…it’s rates arrrrr. Anyway, I finally figured out why people were getting that post-Pirates of the Caribbean 4: On Stranger Tides is scheduled for release in May and if you type the words “did you hear about the new pirate movie” the very first hit is my blog! I have not seen any of these movies, but I think I am going to pick the first one up today and get started.

In other movie new, I am Number Four starring Alex Pettyfer and Dianna Agron opens next Friday, February 18th. In case you didn’t know this is based on the book with the same title by Pittacus Lore. Pittacus Lore is the pen name of James Frey (“A Million Little Pieces” and “Bright Shiny Morning”) and Jobie Hughes (grew up in Ohio, went to Ohio University). I have not read the book yet and it has been on my TBR pile for ages, but with all the movie hype I’ll probably have to wait. Watch for a second book due out in August called The Power of Six. Alex Pettyfer is also the star of Beastly, scheduled to be released in March. This movie is also based on a YA book of the same name by Alex Flynn. It is a modern retelling of “Beauty and the Beast.” I have read the book (which I enjoyed) and am looking forward to the movie. Young Alex is certainly in high demand these days. He is the fan favorite to play Jace Wayland in the film adaptation of Cassandra Clare’s City of Bones. From what I hear he is in discussions about this.

Finally, Universal Studios is making a movie out of Jay Asher’s amazing 2007 novel, Thirteen Reasons Why. Selena Gomez has been pick for the lead role of Hannah, a teen who commits suicide, leaving behind 13 tapes meant for the people who played a role in her death. This project is still in development and supporting roles have not been cast, though Logan Lerman (Lightening Thief, Perks of Being a Wallflower) is rumored to be up for the role of Clay, the shy guy who had a crush on Hannah. I’ll be interested to see how that turns out. In the meantime, get busy reading those books so you can compare the movies.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

