Shine by Lauren Myracle

If you think that Lauren Myracle is all about stereotypical teen girl drama, think again. In her newest book, Shine, Myracle tells the heartbreaking story of a young hate crime victim and his best friend’s search for answers in a small,  impoverished Southern community.

Shine by Lauren Myracle
May, 2011

Cat and Patrick grew up as the best of friends, but drifted apart when they began high school. Now, three years later, Patrick needs Cat’s help. Patrick, who is openly gay, is viciously beaten and left for dead and the local police don’t have clue about who is responsible. While Patrick lies in a coma Cat begins her own investigation into the incident. Her sleuthing uncovers some painful and disturbing truths about her community and the people she has known her entire life.

Don’t let this gorgeous cover fool you, this book is full of ugly truths. Myracle shines a light on the darkness created by intolerance, and the fear it breeds. Vivid descriptions bring the impoverished and drug-ridden town of Black Creek, North Carolina, and it’s inhabitants to life. While the hate-crime against Patrick is the driving force behind this mystery, the story is in many ways Cat’s.  Traumatic events of her past, which are not immediately revealed,  have left her broken and voiceless. She was betrayed by those she trusted and as a result she has isolated herself. Her painful investigation leads her to the truth and helps her to find her voice and her inner light.

Readers should be aware that this book contains graphic violence, descriptions of a sexual assault, and derogatory language.

Fans of Ellen Hopkins, Rules of Survival by Nancy Werlin, and Living Dead Girl by Elizabeth Scott will enjoy this intense and gripping novel.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Advertisements

7 responses to “Shine by Lauren Myracle

  1. I came across your blog in a Google search.

    I just reviewed this book last week myself, and I have to say, I agree with everything you said here. I was one of those people who thought Lauren Myracle could only write one thing, but this book proved me wrong – and blew me away in the process. My review is here, if you’d like to check it out. Great post!

  2. Pingback: Mondays with Megan-The WSJ Article | YA? Why Not?

  3. Pingback: Series vs Stand Alones | YA? Why Not?

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Books That Tackle Tough Issues | YA? Why Not?

  5. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Best of 2011 | YA? Why Not?

  6. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Books That Broke My Heart A Little | YA? Why Not?

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday-Favorite Covers | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s