Mondays with Megan-It’s a Reality: Adults Read YA!

There was an interesting article in the L.A. Times yesterday about the rise in the number of adults reading YA books. You can read the entire article for yourself here, but I really want to point out this interesting statistic (you know how I love my statistics):

“Where adult hardcover sales were down 17.8% for the first half of 2009 versus the same period in 2008, children’s/young adult hardcovers were up 30.7%.”

It is officially cool for adults to read YA fiction! Of course, those of us who are reading these books already knew that!

J.K. Rowling was definitely a trend setter, but it’s been thirteen years since Harry Potter came to the USA and adults are buying more YA novels than ever. I’m not sure we can call that a trend anymore. It’s now just reality-adults love YA novels! Here at my library Suzanne Collins’ Hunger Games series is a huge hit among adult patrons and I love introducing adult fans of Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight to Cassandra Clare and her Mortal Instruments series.

Not convinced that YA books are great for adults? Try some, I know you’ll find something you like.  Stephen King fans should try Michael Grant. Tired of vampires? Check out Carrie Ryan’s zombie trilogy. If historical fiction is more your style pick up Marcus Zusak’s The Book Thief or The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly. I also love introducing adults to Bloody Jack by L.A. Meyer and The Cardturner by Louis Sachar. 

If you’ve never read YA and you want to start, let me know. I can find you the perfect book. I promise.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

One response to “Mondays with Megan-It’s a Reality: Adults Read YA!

  1. I love YA, yay for this 🙂

Leave a Reply

