Iron King Review

I did it! I read and enjoyed a faerie book! Over the weekend I finished The Iron King by Julie Kagawa. In fact, as soon as I am done with the Western that I need to read for book club, I will be starting the second book in the series, The Iron Daughter (unless someone beats me to it!).

Iron King by Julie Kagawa 2010
Iron Fey, book 1

Meghan Chase’s life stinks. She suffers a public humiliation at school, her best friend Robbie is acting strange, and her little brother Ethan is acting even stranger. On the eve of her sixteenth birthday Meghan gets some disturbing news: she is the daughter of the faerie king Oberon. Her brother’s life is in danger and it is up to Meghan to venture into Nevernever, the land of the fey, to save him. Her guide on this dangerous quest is her best friend Robbie, who she discovers is actually a faerie better known as Robin Goodfellow, or Puck. Accompanying them on their journey is Ash, a prince from the rival faerie court and Grimalkin, the talking cat faerie. The travelers discover that they must face an unknown enemy that threatens the very existence of Nevernever and the fey. Can Meghan find her true powers in time to save her brother and faeries who have risked their lives to help her?

I liked this book very much. I really appreciated the mixture of the familiar and the unknown. Oberon and Titania? Puck and Queen Mab? Thank you Shakespeare, I have heard of them! Faerie tricksters? Thanks Kiersten White, Paranormalcy taught me all about the tricky fey. Iron Horse? Whoa! Hold on a minute…this is not very fairie-ish, is it? Actually, yes, it sure is. Welcome to the world of the Iron Fey. I won’t spoil things for you, you’ll have to find out for yourself what these new breed of faeries are all about! I will say it is a pretty cool twist on faerie lore.

I loved Grimalkin. In fact, I needed to know more about the cait sidhe (pronounced caught shee). I learned that the cait sidhe (or cait sith) is a faerie from Celtic mythology that is said to be a black cat with a white spot on its breast that haunts the Scottish Highlands. Some say that it is not a faerie, but a transformed witch. In The Iron King, the cait sidhe turns out to be both a manipulative and helpful companion, offering wisdom (at a cost) and comic relief.

I also liked Meghan as a main character. She was a bit impulsive and jumped to conclusions, which was annoying at times, but she was also tough and loyal. Her attraction to Ash is not very well-developed, but I suspect that more about the Ice Prince will be forthcoming in the next book, The Iron Daughter. Overall, this was an enjoyable introduction the world of faeries. I would recommend this to people looking for a good paranormal adventure with a touch of romantic tension. I would also recommend it to people reluctant to get involved in the faerie world (like me!).

Pair with Need by Carrie Jones, Paranormalcy by Kiersten White, Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr, and Wonderous Strange by Lesley Livingston.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

One response to “Iron King Review

  1. Pingback: Firebug by Lish McBride Review 9/25/14 | YA? Why Not?

Leave a Reply

