Mondays With Megan: Talking about books and Ukrainian eggs

Hi Everyone! Wow, this weekend was jam-packed with activities for me. I started a home improvement project, spent a lovely day with my family on Saturday, and learned how to color traditional Ukrainian eggs. I spent enough time in my car to finish listening to A Red Herring Without Mustard by Alan Bradley (loved) and I managed to squeeze in enough dog walking to finish listening to The Abortionist’s Daughter by Elisabeth Hyde (really good too). As for reading, well, I barely cracked a spine.

Ok, first things first: the eggs. As some of you may know, I am not a Crafty McCrafterson, but I am pretty pleased with my creations! I was really nervous about learning how to create pysanky because it seemed like a complicated process. The word pysanky comes from the Ukrainian word that means “to write” and that is exactly what you do. Using a tiny stylus you literally write or draw on your egg using melted beeswax. Once you draw your initial design you dye your first color. Everything under the wax stays white and the rest is your first color. Then you add more details to your design and dye again, repeating the steps with as many colors as you can. The lightest colors get dyed first, and you get darker as you go along.

Here are all the jars of dye. If you look closely you can also see the drawing tools, hunks of beeswax, and the candles used to melt the wax. There were tons of colors! I was surprised to discover how beautiful the nutmeg brown was. It ended up being my favorite.

Here is one of my wax covered eggs. You can see that I have used pink and turquoise. What you can’t see, because it is under all that black wax, is a lovely dark blue.

Here is what was under all that wax! This one I did free-hand. I like the colors, but I prefer the others that I did following a pattern. I guess I’m old-fashioned that way (tee hee).

Here is my take on a traditional star pattern. This is actually my first egg.

This one is my favorite! I got a little confused with the pattern (wheat), but I think it still turned out pretty nice. Traditionally pysanky that depict plant motifs guarantee a good harvest. I just like the turquoise and brown together!

The library actually has a book about Ukrainian Easter Eggs! It’s a children’s book, but it explains the tradition of the eggs and includes directions on how to make your own. It’s called Easter Eggs for Anya by Virginia Kroll. I was fortunate to have personal tutors for my egg making day! It’s all about who you know…

 And now, a little book talk. Actually, more like book promises. I promise to review Alex Martin’s debut novel, Girl Wonder coming this week. I promise to talk about how great Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Levithan is. I also promise to read a graphic novel or two this week. I have seriously been slacking on that lately.

Happy Reading!

˜Megan

Leave a Reply

